Tablet Local

Van Cliburn Memorial Concert takes place Thursday

To mark the one-year anniversary of the death of legendary pianist Van Cliburn on Thursday, the Fort Worth-based foundation that bears his name will host The Van Cliburn Memorial Concert in Sundance Square Plaza.

In the first event of its kind, eight former Cliburn Competition award winners will perform short solo recitals on the outdoor stage of the plaza in downtown Fort Worth.

The free concert will be 5 p.m. to 9 p.m. and will be live-streamed through and

Tickets are not required, and patrons may come and go. Limited seating wil be available on a first-come, first-served basis, Cliburn officials said.

There will be heaters on the plaza, but patrons may want to bring coats. The National Weather Service forecast calls for mostly sunny skies with late afternoon temperatures in the low 50s, dropping into the upper 40s after sundown, which is at 6:24 p.m. Winds will be out of south at 5 to 10 mph. No precipitation is forecast.

Cliburn died of cancer on Feb. 27, 2013, at his home in Westover Hills.

The program begins at 5 p.m. with welcoming remarks. The pianists and the pieces they will play are:

5:06 p.m. Yakov Kasman, 1997 silver medalist

Rachmaninoff Sonata No. 2 in B-flat Minor, op. 36 (1913)

5:33 p.m. Simone Pedroni, 1993 gold medalist

Williams Suite from Lincoln and Liszt Funerailles

6:03 p.m. Steven Lin, 2013 jury discretionary award winner

Debussy selections from Suite bergamasque — Menuet and Clair de lune. Also Mendelssohn Fantasy in F-sharp Minor, op. 28

6:30 p.m. Maxim Philippov, 2001 silver medalist

Schumann Sonata No. 1 in F-sharp Minor, op. 11

7:02 p.m. Alexey Koltakov, 2005 finalist

Liszt Après une lecture du Dante

7:25 p.m. José Feghali, 1985 gold medalist

Schumann Kinderszenen, op. 15, and Bach-Hess Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring

7:55 p.m. Antonio Pompa-Baldi, 2001 silver medalist

Liszt Ballade No. 2 in B Minor, Poulenc Les chemins de l’amour and

Liszt Paraphrase on Verdi’s Ernani

8:17 p.m. Alexander Kobrin, 2005 gold medalist

Tchaikovsky selections from The Seasons, op. 37b✔