Tarrant County students selected for National Merit scholarships

The National Merit Scholarship program has announced 2,500 winners nationally in its second round of scholarship awards.

The seniors were selected from about 15,000 finalists and are chosen by college admissions officers and high school counselors based on accomplishments, skills and potential for college success.

Most of the local recipients received their single-payment $2,500 award from the National Merit Scholarship Corp. itself. Winners of college-sponsored awards are expected to be announced this month and in early June. Here are the winners, with school and planned field of study:


Kathryn M. Kudlaty, Martin High School, medicine

Cheong M. Yu, Martin High School, healthcare


Alison J. Chang, Trinity High School, economics


Colin M. Ford, Fort Worth Country Day School, undecided


Anisha M. Suterwala, Grapevine High School, undecided

Flower Mound

Kyle D. Buttner, Flower Mound High School, international relations

Ivana Cuberovic, Flower Mound High School, biomedical engineering

John C. Fischer, Flower Mound High School, international business

Holly E. Kinser, Flower Mound High School, biochemistry

Fort Worth

Michael F. Coffer, Nolan Catholic High School, psychiatry

Megan J. Deaton, Bethesda Christian School, journalism

Ely Erez, Paschal High School, medicine

Antonia E. Gallman, Trinity Valley School, science

H. Le Lien, Nolan Catholic High School, medicine

Chelsea N. Miller, Trinity Valley School, business

Ryan H. Smith, Trinity Valley School, endocrinology

David F. Vreeland, Paschal High School, electrical engineering

Thomas B. Yee, Lake Country Christian School, music composition/writing

Grand Prairie

Rayce D. Yanney, Paschal High School, medicine


Alec P. Brown, Carroll Senior High School, computer science


Rachel E. Engelland, Keller High School, medicine (scholarship underwritten by Tenet Healthcare Foundation)

Rachel E. Gartman, Keller High School, architecture


Yuefeng Wu, Carroll Senior High School, medicine

EVA-MARIE AYALA, 817-390-7700