Latest News

Dallas Cowboys send five to the Pro Bowl

IRVING — The Dallas Cowboys’ up-and-down season will be reflected at the Pro Bowl this season.After sending a record 13 players to the Pro Bowlers last year, the Cowboys will have five in Hawaii on Feb. 8.

Outside linebacker DeMarcus Ware, nose tackle Jay Ratliff, tight end Jason Witten, center Andre Gurode and right guard Leonard Davis were chosen on Tuesday.

Ratliff will be making his first trip to Hawaii and learned of his selection Tuesday while fishing on Lewisville Lake. Just after catching a 50-pound blue catfish he got the news of his Pro Bowl honor.

“This day will probably go down as one of the best days in my life,” Ratliff said.

Ware, who leads the NFL with 19 sacks, is headed to the all-star game for the third consecutive year. The fourth-year player is just 3 1/2 sacks from tying the NFL record.

Witten is becoming a regular in the showcase and was named for the fifth consecutive year. Gurode also earned this third consecutive trip and Davis enjoys his second consecutive selection.

Ware, Ratliff, Gurode and Witten were named starters.

The biggest omission for the Cowboys was inside linebacker Bradie James, who was left disappointed again. This season appeared to be his best shot for his first selection, but his career season was still not enough. James leads the Cowboy with 171 tackles and has six sacks.

Cowboys quarterback Tony Romo was hurt in the balloting by missing three games, and receiver Terrell Owens has had one of his worst statistical seasons.

The New York Jets had the most Pro Bowlers with seven. The New York Giants, Minnesota and Tennessee had six.