Foul Territory

May 14, 2014

MLB reverses scoring decision in Yu Darvish’s no-hit bid

With change, Yu Darvish’s no-hit bid Friday ended after 20 straight outs.

Foul Territory Blog

The latest news and notes about the Texas Rangers

MLB has changed a controversial scoring call during Yu Darvish’s no-hit bid against the Red Sox on Friday.

Darvish had come within one out of a no-hitter before Boston slugger David Ortiz singled with two outs in the ninth. But a ruling earlier in the game has been changed and Darvish now lost it after 20 consecutive outs.

The controversial call came with two outs in the seventh when Ortiz lifted a routine fly ball to right field. Second baseman Rougned Odor, playing in shallow right on a defensive shift, and right fielder Alex Rios convened on the ball and it dropped between them. Neither player touched the ball with their gloves.

It broke up a perfect game bid at the time, but the no-hitter remained intact when official scorer Steve Weller ruled an error on Rios.

Weller, a 20-year scoring veteran, looked at several replays before making his decision. The Elias Sports Bureau and the official rule book supported Weller’s call. But MLB’s review process did not.

The league has not released a statement on the decision, saying only it has been overturned.

Weller cited Rule 10.12 (a) (1) in defending his call. The rule states:

“The official scorer shall charge an outfielder with an error if such outfielder allows a flyball to drop to the ground if, in the official scorer’s judgment, an outfielder at that position making ordinary effort would have caught such flyball.”

Rios agreed with the error call, taking full responsibility for not calling Odor off and making the catch. Manager Ron Washington also felt an error was the proper call.

Ortiz didn’t, but said he would have been OK with it if Darvish had finished off the no-hitter. Since Darvish didn’t, Ortiz appealed the decision.

And MLB agreed with him.

Related content

Comments

Videos

Sports Videos