Before TCU and OSU battle for Big 12 bragging rights, take a look at league’s postseason history

05/24/2014 11:09 PM

05/24/2014 11:10 PM

TCU and Oklahoma State play for the Big 12 tournament championship at 4:30 p.m. Sunday but more than bragging rights are on the line.

The winner most likely earns a coveted national seed when the NCAA tournament bracket is announced Monday morning. The 16 regional hosts, of which the eight national seeds are included, will be announced at 8 p.m. Sunday. The eight national seeds, however, won’t be known until Monday morning when the entire 64-team bracket is announced. Both TCU (41-15) and OSU (45-15) are locks to be host for the NCAA Regionals.

The national seeds get the added bonus of hosting the Super Regionals if they advance. Neither team has ever hosted a Super Regional, although OSU did host the 1997 Mideast Regional, which was before the current 64-team format was adopted in 1999. OSU won the Big 12 regular-season title, one game ahead of second-place TCU. The Cowboys took two of three games from the Horned Frogs in Stillwater, Okla., the last weekend in March. Since that series, TCU has won 26 of 29 games, including a 3-0 record this week at the Big 12 tournament. The Cowboys beat Texas twice on Saturday to advance to the title game. They came back in both games giving them 27 come-from-behind wins this season.

With all of that in mind, here’s a chart of how Big 12 teams have done in the postseason, with how far they went in parentheses. For clarifications, check the details below the chart.

Big 12 baseball postseason history

Year Tourney champ Reg.-season champ Other postseason berths
2013 Oklahoma (Super) Kansas State (Super) OSU
2012 Missouri (Reg.) *Baylor (Super) OU (Super), A&M
2011 A&M (CWS) *UT (CWS)/A&M (CWS) BU, KSU, OU, OSU
2010 A&M (Reg.) *UT (Super-lost to TCU) BU (lost to TCU), KSU, OU (CWS)
2009 *UT (CWS runner-up) UT BU, KU, KSU, MU, *OU, OSU, A&M
2008 UT (Reg.) A&M (Super) MU, Neb., OU, OSU
2007 A&M (Super) *UT (Reg.) BU, MU, Neb., OSU (Super)
2006 Kansas (Reg.) *UT (Reg.) BU, MU (Super), *Neb., OU (Super), OSU
2005 *Nebraska (CWS) *BU (CWS)/*Neb. (CWS) MU, OU, UT (CWS champ)
2004 OSU (Reg.) *UT (CWS runner-up) MU, OU, A&M (Super), Tech
2003 UT (CWS) UT BU (Super), MU, Neb., A&M
2002 *UT (CWS champ) *UT BU, Neb. (CWS), OU, Tech
2001 *Nebraska (CWS) Neb. BU, OSU, UT, Tech
2000 Neb. (Super) Baylor (Reg.) OU, Tech, UT (CWS)
1999 Neb. (Reg.) *A&M (CWS) *BU (Super), OSU (CWS), Tech, UT
1998 Texas Tech (Reg.) *A&M (Reg. final) BU, OU, OSU
1997 OU (Reg.) *Texas Tech (Reg. semis) A&M, *OSU (Reg. final)

* - National seed; Super - Super Regionals; CWS - College World Series; In the column to the far right, if no round is listed the team lost in Regionals.

Note: In 1997 and 1998, the NCAA tournament consisted of 48 teams with eight six-team Regionals. It expanded to 64 teams in 1999 with 16 four-team Regionals, including eight national seeds. The national seeds host the NCAA Super Regional if they advance.

Also note: TCU earned postseason berths each year from 2004 to 2012 as members of Conference USA and the Mountain West and advanced to the Super Regionals in 2009, 2010 and 2012. In 2010, TCU earned its first College World Series berth. TCU has hosted three Regionals (2009-11).

Join the Discussion

Fort Worth Star-Telegram is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQ | Terms of Service