TCU’s Preston Morrison named Big 12 Pitcher of the Year

05/20/2014 10:58 AM

11/12/2014 5:34 PM

TCU’s Preston Morrison was named the Big 12 Pitcher of the Year Tuesday morning by the league’s coaches.

Morrison (8-3) leads the league with a 1.18 ERA and is tied for second in the league lead with eight wins.

He is the first TCU pitcher to twice be honored as a conference Pitcher of the Year. He was named the Mountain West Conference Pitcher of the Year and Freshman of the Year in 2012. It’s the sixth time a TCU pitcher has earned the league honor under coach Jim Schlossnagle.

Morrison was joined on the All-Big 12 first team by pitchers Brandon Finnegan and Riley Ferrell and outfielder Boomer White. First baseman Kevin Cron, third baseman Derek Odell and pitcher Tyler Alexander were named to the second team. Alexander was also named to the All-Freshman team.

Morrison leads the league with three shutouts and is third with 99 1/3 innings pitched and fifth with 70 strikeouts. He’s also tied for the league lead with four complete games and opponent batting average of .199. In league play, which the voting is based on, Morrison was 5-1 with a league-best 1.14 ERA.

Morrison, a junior, is fifth all-time at TCU with 24 career wins and is third all-time with a career ERA of 1.61. He’s pitched 319 innings in his career, fourth-most all-time at TCU.

2014 All-Big 12 Awards

Player of the Year: Zach Fish, Oklahoma State

Pitcher of the Year: Preston Morrison, TCU

Newcomer of the Year: Adam Kirsch, Texas Tech

Freshman of the Year: Sheldon Neuse, Oklahoma

Coach of the Year: Josh Holliday, Oklahoma State

All-Big 12 First team

Gage Green, Oklahoma State; Sheldon Neuse, Oklahoma; Donnie Walton, OSU; Eric Gutierrez, Texas Tech; Tim Proudfoot; Texas Tech; Billy Fleming, West Virginia; Zach Fish, OSU; Boomer White, TCU; Mark Payton, Texas; Bobby Boyd, West Virginia; Adam Kirsch, Texas Tech; Mac James, Oklahoma; Frank Duncan, Kansas; Jon Perrin, OSU; Brandon Finnegan, TCU; Preston Morrison, TCU; Josh Michalec, Baylor; Brendan McCurry, OSU; Vince Wheeland, OSU; Riley Ferrell, TCU.

Second team

Ka’iana Eldredge, Kansas; Hunter Redman, Texas Tech; Colby Wright, Kansas; Tim Arakawa, OSU; Kevin Cron, TCU; Derek Odell, TCU; Brooks Marlow, Texas; Ryan McBroom, West Virginia; Ross Kivett, Kansas State; Craig Aikin, Oklahoma; Michael Suiter, Kansas; Tyler Neslony, Texas Tech; Connor McKay, Kansas; Tyler Alexander, TCU; Nathan Thornhill, Texas; Chris Sadberry, Texas Tech; Harrison Musgrave, West Virginia; Chad Hollingsworth, Texas.

TCU’s honorable mention: Kyle Bacak, Dylan Fitzgerald, Garrett Crain, Cody Jones, Keaton Jones.

All-Freshman team

Tyler Alexander, TCU; Sheldon Neuse, Oklahoma; Stephen Villines, Kansas; Blake Battenfield, OSU; Morgan Cooper, Texas; Tres Barrera, Texas; Austin O’Brien, Oklahoma; Tanner DeVinney, Kansas State; Zane Gurwitz, Texas; Tyler Buffett, OSU; Stephen Smith, Texas Tech; Daniel Castano, Baylor.

Join the Discussion

Fort Worth Star-Telegram is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQ | Terms of Service