May 19, 2014

Rodeo Insider: Windy Ryon event attracts big-name cowboys

Cody Ohl, Tuf Cooper and Tyson Durfey highlight an all-star cast.

Many of the world’s top cowboys and cowgirls will saddle up for the 41st Windy Ryon Memorial Roping, which is scheduled for Friday through Sunday at the Ryon Arena in Saginaw.

In the tie-down roping event, six-time Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association world champion Cody Ohl of Hico is on the card, along with two-time world champion Tuf Cooper of Decatur, 2005 world all-around champion Ryan Jarrett and six-time Wrangler National Finals Rodeo qualifier Tyson Durfey.

On March 2, Durfey, who lives Weatherford, earned $100,000 after winning the tie-down roping title at RFD-TV’s The American at Arlington’s AT&T Stadium.

Ohl, Cooper, Jarrett and Durfey are among 40 credentialed riders who are scheduled to compete in the invitational tie-down roping event, which begins at 1 p.m. Saturday.

The performance also will feature an eight-head match roping between former NFR qualifiers Justin Maass and Clint Cooper, who is from Decatur.

Tickets are $10. For more information, visit

Hanchey roping tough

Shane Hanchey, the PRCA’s defending world champion tie-down roper, also is entered in the Ryon Roping.

The Sulphur, La., cowboy earned $5,440 after winning the PRCA’s Wrangler Champions Challenge last weekend in Redding, Calif. The Champions Challenge was a single-performance rodeo that featured the sport’s elite, and Hanchey clinched the tie-down title with a time of 7.4 seconds.

In barrel racing, former NFR qualifier Carlee Pierce of Stephenville earned $4,800 after tying for first with Christy Loflin. They each had a time of 17.37 seconds.

In team roping, two-time world champion Patrick Smith of Lipan and his partner, Kaleb Driggers, each earned $5,440 after clinching the title. They finished No. 1 with a time of 4.6 seconds.

Trevor Brazile of Decatur claimed the all-around title after earning $6,240 in team roping and tie-down roping.

Other winners were bareback rider Austin Foss (86 points), steer wrestlers Trevor Knowles and Luke Branquinho (4.2 seconds each), saddle bronc rider Cole Elshere (85 points) and bull rider Cody Campbell (91 points).

RNCFR moving

The PRCA’s Ram National Circuit Finals Rodeo will move to the Orlando area for the next 10 years after campaigning in the Oklahoma City area for the past four years.

The 2014 RNCFR was April 10-12 at the Lazy E Arena in Guthrie, Okla. The 2015 RNCFR is scheduled for March 25-28 at the Silver Spurs Arena in Kissimmee, Fla.

The RNCFR features 24 contestants in each rodeo event, two riders from each of the PRCA’s 12 geographic regions that determine champions each year. The Texas Circuit is one of those 12 regions.

Steer roping update

Roger Branch of Perkins, Okla., earned $6,415 after winning the National Circuit Finals Steer Roping last weekend in Torrington, Wyo. During the final round, Branch, who represented the Prairie Circuit, turned in a time of 11.1 seconds.

Howdy McGinn, of the Columbia River Circuit, finished second with a time of 12.5 seconds.

Related content



Sports Videos