SMU golfer Dechambeau among 2014 Hogan Award semifinalists

04/16/2014 7:11 PM

04/16/2014 11:35 PM

SMU golfer Bryson Dechambeau, winner of the 2013 Trans-Mississippi Championship and a U.S. Amateur Qualifier in California, is one of 10 semifinalists for the 2014 Ben Hogan Award, given annually to the top player in college golf.

The list of semifinalists, announced Wednesday, includes five seniors, three juniors, a sophomore and a freshman. Dechambeau, a sophomore, is the lone semifinalist from a Texas college based on voting by the 24-member Hogan Award selection committee.

Other semifinalists for the award, to be presented May 18 at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, include Greg Eason (Central Florida), Joey Garber (Georgia), Brandon Hagy (California), Cheng-Tsung Pan (Washington), Patrick Rodgers (Stanford), Ollie Schniederjans (Georgia Tech), Robby Shelton (Alabama), Cameron Wilson (Stanford) and Bobby Wyatt (Alabama).

Pan and Rodgers are semifinalists for a third consecutive year. Wyatt also was a semifinalist last year.

The list of semifinalists includes the top seven golfers in the latest Golfstat rankings, as well as the top six from the Golfweek/Sagarin individual rankings.

The Hogan Award factors in performances at all collegiate and amateur competitions in the past 12 months as well as a golfer’s efforts in professional events while competing as an amateur. The list of semifinalists will be pared to three finalists on May 7, with the winner announced during a live awards ceremony May 18 in Fort Worth as a lead-in to tournament week festivities at the Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial, Fort Worth’s annual PGA Tour stop.

The winner will receive an exemption into the 2015 Colonial tournament.

TCU golfer Julien Brun, a finalist for the 2013 Hogan Award and one of the golfers on the 2014 watch list, did not receive enough votes to make this year’s list of semifinalists.

Past Hogan Award winners crowned in Fort Worth include D.J. Trahan (2002), Ricky Barnes and Hunter Mahan (2003 co-winners), Bill Haas (2004), Ryan Moore (2005), Matt Every (2006), Chris Kirk (2007), Rickie Fowler (2008), Kyle Stanley (2009), Nick Taylor (2010), Peter Uihlein (2011), Patrick Cantlay (2012) and Chris Williams (2013).

Join the Discussion

Fort Worth Star-Telegram is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQ | Terms of Service