March 24, 2014

Kyle Busch, Dale Earnhardt Jr. among TMS Hall of Fame honorees

The ceremony is April 3 at Texas Motor Speeday, days before the Duck Commander 500.

Kyle Busch, who won on Sunday in California to put himself in line for a spot in the new-look Chase for the Sprint Cup championship and is the defending champion of next week’s race at Texas Motor Speedway, will be among the honorees at the Texas Motorsports Hall of Fame Gala.

He and four others, including fan favorite Dale Earnhardt Jr., will be honored at a ceremony April 3 at TMS, days before the Duck Commander 500 Sprint Cup race.

Team owner Roger Penske will be enshrined into the Hall of Fame.

Busch will receive the Texas Motor Speedway Racer of the Year award, recognizing his dominating victory in the Sprint Cup race at TMS last year. It was his first in Fort Worth, despite being one of the track’s winningest drivers in the Nationwide and truck series races there.

Earnhardt, who opened the season as the Daytona 500 winner, is receiving the Gen. Thomas Sadler Award, recognizing humanitarian work.

Retired IndyCar driver Dario Franchitti, a four-time IndyCar Series champion and three-time Indianapolis 500 winner, will receive the Bruton Smith Legend Award. Franchitti exited the sport after head and neck injuries sustained in a crash last October.

Texas resident James Buescher, who grew up in Plano, and wife Krishtian are scheduled to receive the Sportsmanship Award.

Related content



Sports Videos