Take an issue that's full of sometimes-complicated details like Texas public school finance, throw in an element of urgency like the need for better transportation solutions in Dallas-Fort Worth, add a healthy helping of local interest spiced with some controversy and you have the perfect assignment for Mike Norman to examine in depth. Mike is the newspaper's editorial director.

E-mail: mnorman@star-telegram.com

Top priority: Finding a new leader at Fort Worth ISD

| |Thursday, Sep. 11, 2014

Needs of students leave trustees with no time to waste.

School finance ruling crosses into new territory

| |Thursday, Sep. 04, 2014

Previous rulings didn’t directly require more money like this one does.

Stage is set for a fight on private school vouchers

| |Friday, Aug. 29, 2014

Lieutenant governor candidate Dan Patrick is a long-time proponent.

Perry’s crafted image is still a work in progress

| |Thursday, Aug. 14, 2014

Preparing presidential run, he dons the mantle of national protector.

Time is short, list of questions is long on arena

| |Thursday, Aug. 07, 2014

The proposal for a new venue, on the table for years, is suddenly urgent.

Mike Norman: Theodore Roosevelt’s frustration with Congress seems familiar

| |Thursday, Jul. 31, 2014

‘Fools’ on one side wanted too much, on the other side too little.

Perry and Granger have different target audiences for their immigration plans

| |Friday, Jul. 25, 2014

The hot-button issue presents different challenges to the Texas political figures.

Opinion: Free speech might make people uncomfortable

| |Thursday, Jul. 17, 2014

A judge protects Open Carry’s gun-rights demonstrations at the intersections of streets in Arlington.

A primal scream on U.S. transportation funding

| |Thursday, Jul. 10, 2014

Congress will act on the Highway Trust Fund, but oddly.

Action on voting rights not coming in Congress

| |Friday, Jul. 04, 2014

Supreme Court struck down a key protection in federal law last year.