06/09/2014 2:56 PM

06/09/2014 2:57 PM

Grapevine/Colleyville Heritage wraps up tough week

The Grapevine/Colleyville Heritage varsity hockey team went 0-2 last week on the ice, losing 6-5 to Carroll on Thursday and 8-2 to Coppell on Sunday.

The varsity team moved to 1-4 on the summer season with the losses.

Grapevine/Colleyville Heritage got off to a promising start against Carroll on Thursday, taking a 4-3 lead into the third period of play.

Christopher Rodo scored twice in the game for the varsity team, while Daman Davanloo, Brad Branscum and Andrew Monhollen all scored a goal each.

Garrett Knutson, Thomas Demers, Sam Yujuico, Rodo, Monhollen and Brynn Sprinkle all earned assists in the game for the team.

It was Grapevine/Colleyville Heritage that scored first in the game against Coppell as well, when Corbin Hutchings scored on an assist from Monhollen just 30 seconds into the game.

The Cowboys scored five unanswered goals, and after a scoreless second period, led 5-1 heading into the third period.

The varsity team scored again on Hutchings second goal of the game, this time a power-play goal on assists by Monhollen and Spencer Stuckeman just under the four minute mark.

Coppell responded with three consecutive goals and never looked back.

Grapevine/Colleyville Heritage will play Jesuit at 7 p.m. on Thursday at the Euless Star Center.

Carroll has five players named to all-district squad

The Carroll softball team recently had five players named to the 4-5A all-district softball team.

Lauren Heintzelman, Christina Hill, and Alex Schneider were all selected as first-team players, while Sydney Bedford and Gretchen Morgan both earned second-team honors.

Grapevine and Colleyville Heritage well represented on all-district team

The Grapevine and Colleyville Heritage softball teams had multiple players selected to this year's 6-5A all-district squad, including several of the district's superlative honors.

For Colleyville Heritage, Tess Eby was selected as the district's Co-MVP of the year, while teammate Rebecca Parks was chosen as one of the Co-Pitchers of the year.

Hallie Hanson was named Most Valuable Catcher, and Allison Conaway was chosen the district Coach of the Year.

Breann Hall, Fallon Dean and Victoria Bratcher all received first team honors, while Chloe Martinez, Madison Young and Shelby Bourland were all named to the district's second team.

Over at Grapevine, Cynthia Haugh was named Co-Offensive MVP of the year, while teammates Ercilia Mendoza and Sally Delgado were both named to the second team.

- John English

Editor's Choice Videos

Join the Discussion

Fort Worth Star-Telegram is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQ | Terms of Service