Keller High’s One Act Play advances to regional contest

04/21/2014 3:28 PM

04/21/2014 3:29 PM

Keller High School’s production of “All the King’s Men” advanced to the regional round in the University Interscholastic League’s One Act Play contest after its performance at the area meet April 11 at Flower Mound High School.

Indian Theatre’s Hank Freeman received the Best Actor award while Miranda Titus earned Best Technical Crew Member. Drew Duffy and Michal Knupp were named to the All-Star Cast.

Other KHS cast and crew members are Tori Husting, Nick Connolly, Katelyn Kutiper, Sam Walker, Katie Howrey, Gretchen Clark, Joseph Hybarger, Maddy Moore, Garrett Cook, Lauren Weik, Jonathan Gartman, Clare Keating, Carolyn Robbins, Megan Yates, Grayson Merchant, Tanner Hudson, Brittany Tomlinson, Natalie Renfro, Ryan Lee and Kalyn Kelly.

Central High School’s team also performed at the area round and did not advance but earned several honors for “Julius Caesar.” Don Ton was named Best Technician, and Ton, Makinna Hardy, Darcie Grim, Hannah Simon, and Audrey Townsend were named Best Technical Crew. Braeden Langlois and Josh Russell earned Honorable Mention recognition. Chase Durrett was named to the All-Star Cast.

The Region I-5A contest will be May 1 in Lubbock, with the top two teams advancing to state. In the last six years, Keller, Central and Fossil Ridge teams have advanced to state in the One Act Play competition.

Keller took home the state title in 2010, Central placed second in 2009 and Fossil Ridge finished as first runner up in 4A competition in 2008.

Editor's Choice Videos

Join the Discussion

Fort Worth Star-Telegram is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQ | Terms of Service