Social Eyes: Culinary Celebration will raise money for Carroll schools

08/17/2014 12:00 AM

08/15/2014 5:43 PM

Let’s face it, we all love food. The popularity of TV food shows remains high and has made cooking and eating a spectator sport. Capitalizing on this romance with food are smart charities and nonprofits doing food-centered fundraisers. The innovative Carroll Education Foundation was on the cutting edge of this trend when it started its annual Culinary Celebration several years ago.

Sept. 6 is C-Day for this year’s Culinary Celebration at the Hilton hotel at Southlake Town Square, this time with a ’60s “Peace, Love, Dragons” theme and featuring over 30 high-end chefs preparing their signature dishes for local bon vivants.

“The Culinary Celebration is an event not to miss this year,” said event co-chair Mimi Tran. “The board of directors and many committee volunteers are working hard to make sure that we have the best chefs, entertainment and fun while supporting the Carroll school district.”

Special guest is Celena Rae, who was a finalist in the fourth season of American Idol. Ray will perform and will co-host the event with newsman Scott Murray. Co-chair Sarah Mason added, “More musical entertainment will be provided by the fun-loving dance band the Wonderfuls, along with the high-energy DJ Connections.”

A live auction features a chance to win the use of a brand-new Lexus every month for a year donated by title sponsor Park Place Lexus. Bidders’ paddles will also fly when a set of Calloway irons paired with a trip to a California golf resort or a four-day trip to a luxury resort go up for bid. And don’t forget to get a raffle ticket for a chance to win a $1,000 shopping spree at Southlake Town Square.

Private parties at Rockfish, Truluck’s and a lakeside home, along with golf, spa and sports packages, will be part of the expansive silent auction.

Some of the featured chefs will be from Del Frisco’s Grill, Brio Tuscan Grill, Truluck’s Seafood Steak and Crab House, the Feedstore, Copeland’s, FnG Eats, Nothing Bundt Cakes, Mi Dia from Scratch, Winewood, Wildwood Grill, Central Market and Rockfish.

Feeling groovy? Then wear your best rendition of the ’60s and enter a costume contest to see whose outfit is deemed “outta sight, man.”

Tickets are $100 each or $150 per couple. Purchase at the door or in advance at the school administration building or any campus or online at Call executive director Kacy Hankins with questions at 817-949-5982.

Viva Las Vegas night Sept. 6

It’s way too hot for a Vegas vacation this time of year, but you can still enjoy all the gaming and fun right here at home at the Viva Las Vegas night, hosted by the Northeast Tarrant Chamber of Commerce on Sept. 6.

Chamber President Jack Bradshaw says the evening will be a retro-style Vegas party at a fabulous new venue, Noah’s of Fort Worth, at 4301 Fossil Creek Blvd. Guests will float between a bingo room, a casino games room and the entertainment lounge ,while enjoying beverages and hors d’oeuvres at various food stations.

Straight from WinStar World Casino, Hix Entertainment will provide entertainment reminiscent of the golden age in Las Vegas. Fabulous prizes will be up for grabs for lucky winners.

Tickets are $15 for nonmembers and $10 for chamber members and include food and entertainment. Bingo cards, casino chips and adult beverages are available at additional charge.

Contact Bradshaw at 817-281-9376 or purchase tickets online at (click on “community events”).


Hero Award nominations due Aug. 27

If you know a woman who deserves special recognition for her leadership qualities and outstanding contributions to the Arlington business community, perhaps you should nominate her for the Hero Award.

Sponsored by the Women’s Alliance of the Arlington chamber, the award seeks to recognize women who use collaborative efforts to achieve change and influence.

The Women’s Alliance is an outreach of the Arlington Chamber of Commerce that focuses on empowering and uniting women through business and community endeavors, and this will be the fourth year for the group to present the prestigious award. Former winners are Kristin Vandergriff, Dr. Joan Bergstrom and Diane Cravens.

This year’s winner will be announced at the fourth annual Inspired Women Luncheon on Oct. 24.

Find out the specific nomination criteria at, or contact Henry Lewczyk at Nominations are due by Aug. 27.

Entertainment Videos

Join the Discussion

Fort Worth Star-Telegram is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQ | Terms of Service