One of more than 200,000 people who flocked to the Lone Star State in 2013, Cynthia Allen's professional baptism by fire occurred in Washington, D.C. Her youth belies her experience and her non-native status dictates nothing about her devotion to her community. Part of her preparation for becoming Texan entailed watching all five seasons of Friday Night Lights. A self-proclaimed conservative feminist, she is particularly interested in the impact of national issues on the city, county and state. You can reach her here: cmallen@star-telegram.com

Is social media enlarging or stifling democracy?

| |Wednesday, Aug. 27, 2014

New study suggests social media diminishes political participation.

Closing the opportunity gap with school choice

| |Wednesday, Aug. 20, 2014

For African-American males, charter schools can lead to success.

The horrific destruction of Christianity in Iraq

| |Thursday, Aug. 14, 2014

The U.S. has been slow to defend Iraq’s religious minorities.

Did expiring benefits drive down the jobless rate?

| |Wednesday, Aug. 06, 2014

The latest evidence shows that more people found work after benefits lapsed.

Why consensus matters in making social policy

| |Wednesday, Jul. 30, 2014

Partisan laws forced through Congress aren’t built for the long term.

It’s a complicated situation on the Texas border

| |Wednesday, Jul. 16, 2014

Like emotions surrounding the crisis, solutions will be complex.

The shrinking role of religion in modern America

| |Wednesday, Jul. 09, 2014

We must rediscover the value of faith in American democracy.

Supreme Court’s decision a blow to paternalism

| |Wednesday, Jul. 02, 2014

Women should fear the state, not the court.

Absent foreign policy exacerbated crisis in Iraq

| |Friday, Jun. 20, 2014

Left unaddressed, Syria’s extremist threat has spilled over into Iraq.

It’s time for America to reclaim fatherhood

| |Wednesday, Jun. 11, 2014

A father’s absence can perpetuate the cycle of poverty.