Tritons swim team dominates at TAAF

Posted Tuesday, Aug. 05, 2014  comments  Print Reprints

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

Members of the Trophy Club Tritons summer swim team came home from Bryan/College Station last weekend with considerably heavier suitcases. After winning the Region IV championship, the program took first place overall with 2,782 points at the Texas Amateur Athletic Federation Games of Texas, earning 126 medals along with 106 ribbons.

First-place finishes were won by Morgan Gardner and Jack Nickler in the 6U 25-yard freestyle race; the girls 6U 100 free relay team of Evi Nash, Tyler Miller, Miranda Roskop and Gardner; the girls 8U 100 free relay of Madison Scrivner, Olivia Vaughn, Kathryn Vieceli and Scarlett Joski; the girls age 9-10 100 free relay of Lacy Miller, Makenna Miller, Cheyenne Tatum and Sierra Repsky; and the girls age 13-14 200 free relay of Kelli McKinnon, Madison LaPrade, Allaya Cantu and Kayci McKinnon.

Among age 15-17 and 18-and-up competitions, Tritons swimmers set nine state records.

“The meet went very well, with so many of our swimmers stepping up and delivering their best times when it counted most,” said Tritons coach Steve Melbourn. “I asked a lot of people to put the team first, and they responded by doing more than I ever imagined.”

Older age-bracket first-place finishers and record-setters included: Anneke Miller, Marika Scrivner, Collen Portnoy, Kelly Moore, Hannah Cooper, Kirsten Tobosa, Hannah Reckmeyer, Catherine Stuebe, Claire Unruh, Bleu Davis, Adam Koster, Trey Stenger, Spencer Stanic, Hayden Eichenseer, Ryan Guthrie, Brad Eichenseer, Andrew Moore and coaches Casey Greener and Daniel Sampognaro.

For complete results from the TAAF swim meet and more information, visit

Twitter: @sbenglish74

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?