Division I college coaches barred from Texas high school coaches clinics

Posted Sunday, Jul. 20, 2014  comments  Print Reprints
More information

82nd annual Texas High School Coaches Association state convention

Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, San Antonio

8 a.m.-5 p.m., Monday-Tuesday; 8 a.m.-noon, Wednesday

Basketball all-star game,

7 p.m. Monday at Alamo Convocation Center

Football all-star game, 7 p.m. Tuesday at Alamodome

Area selections

Basketball: G Dennis Jones, FW Dunbar

Football: WR Ryan Parker, Keller Fossil Ridge; QB Tevin Muse, Timberview; RB/WR Stepfawn Hughes, Dunbar; DB Matt McQuillan, Keller Central; DL Jonah Noah, Stephenville; LB Duke Kicinski, Justin Northwest; OL Thomas Walsh, Colleyville Heritage

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

Division I college coaches have been prohibited from giving lectures at the Texas High School Coaches Association state convention.

The result for the 82nd annual “Coaches School” is a reshuffling of 12 sessions that were to be led by six coaches, including Texas football coach Charlie Strong and Kansas State men’s basketball coach Bruce Weber.

THSCA officials had requested a waiver of a 2013 NCAA Division I rule that prevents coaches from attending high school all-star contests and any associated events such as coaches’ clinics. The waiver was denied on July 9, but the THSCA was still pursuing other solutions as late as Friday.

“This rule is simply not applicable at our convention,” a THSCA statement reads. “Our all-stars are NEVER present at the convention’s venue and have no contact with convention attendees. The convention and all-star games are separate events taking place at different venues.”

Coaches School is at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. The all-star players are housed at Trinity University. Monday’s basketball game is at the Alamo Convocation Center and Tuesday’s football game is at the Alamodome.

THSCA has filled some of the sessions with talks by former Dallas Cowboys coach Wade Phillips, former Texas Tech coach Spike Dykes and former Texas A&M coach R.C. Slocum.

“We will continue to work with [the NCAA] and explain that the structure of our convention and all-star games is such that this rule does not apply to our situation,” the statement concludes.

Roster changes

Basketball guard Clay Morgan of Ponder has replaced Alex Robinson of Mansfield Timberview on the North team, while Estevan Mendiola of Floresville replaces Hardin Jefferson’s Zjora Bosha on the South squad.

In football, defensive end Tanner Truitt of Wolfforth Frenship has replaced Xavier Pinelo of Garland Lakeview Centennial on the North team, and offensive lineman Ashmead Ahamad of Deer Park replaces Magnolia West’s Seth Blenderman on the South squad.

Broadcast details

The all-star basketball and football games will be webcast live on FoxSportsSouthwest.com and televised on tape-delay on FOX Sports Southwest.

Monday’s basketball game will be televised at 1:30 p.m. Tuesday, and Tuesday’s football game will be televised at 1 p.m. Wednesday.

Eric Zarate, 817-390-7237 Twitter: @zarate_eric

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?

Follow us on Twitter

Read our latest posts at twitter.com/dfwvarsity

Game of the week