TCU makes it a Texas three-step at College World Series

Posted Monday, Jun. 09, 2014  comments  Print Reprints

Lone Star state of mind

Three Texas teams will play in the 2014 College World Series in Omaha, Neb., the most ever. Here’s a look at the teams from Texas who’ve made it to Omaha:

SchoolCWS appearances (last)
Texas35 (2014)
Rice7 (2008)
Texas A&M5 (2011)
Baylor3 (2005)
Houston2 (1967)
TCU2 (2014)
Texas-Pan American1 (1971)
Texas Tech1 (2014)

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

The College World Series will have a decidedly Lone Star State feel in 2014.

TCU joins Texas Tech and Texas in Omaha, Neb., when the eight-team tournament begins on Saturday at TD Ameritrade Park. It’s the most Texas-based schools to compete in the CWS in one year.

Texas clinched its record 35th CWS berth Saturday after sweeping Houston. TCU is headed back to Omaha for the second time after beating Pepperdine 6-5 Monday at Lupton Stadium. The Horned Frogs’ lone previous appearance was in 2010. Texas Tech swept College of Charleston to earn its first trip to the CWS.

TCU (47-16) opens the CWS against Texas Tech at 2 p.m. Sunday. The Red Raiders (45-19) and Frogs split their four regular-season games this year. Texas (43-19) opens against UC Irvine (40-23) at 2 p.m. Saturday in the opposite side of the bracket.

Texas could meet TCU or Texas Tech for the best-of-three CWS championship series. Both sides of the eight-team bracket play a double-elimination tournament, just as the regional tournaments work. The winners of those two brackets advance to the championship series, which begins June 23.

The three Big 12 teams playing in the CWS ties for the league high. Texas, Baylor and Nebraska advanced in 2005, the year the Longhorns last won the national title. The last time a Big 12 team played at the CWS was 2011, when Texas and Texas A&M both earned berths.

The league’s chances of sending a record four teams to the CWS were vanquished when Oklahoma State was swept by UC Irvine.

The most teams to advance from one state is four from California in 1988 (Cal State Fullerton, California, Fresno State and Stanford). California has sent three teams four times (1992, ’95, ’00 and ’01). Florida has twice sent three teams (’96 and ’98) when Florida, Florida State and Miami all made it.

Long road back

Eight TCU players have been together since 2012 when the team was swept at UCLA in the super regional round. Monday’s victory was especially sweet for those players, including Kevin Cron, Derek Odell, Jerrick Suiter and Keaton Jones.

“The guys I’ve been here with that’s all we’ve ever talked about,” Cron said of the CWS. “I’m proud of my guys for hanging in there and staying tough. It’s a pretty unbelievable feeling. Everything we do is to lead up to this point.”

TCU coach Jim Schlossnagle told assistant coach Zach Etheredge before the game that Cron was going to be a big factor Monday. Cron responded, going 2 for 5 with a homer and two RBIs.

“I wasn’t expecting him to hit a homer or anything,” said Schlossnagle, who praised the leadership of his older players.

“He’s worked so hard and the expectations have been so unrealistic for him since he came out of high school. I’m thankful for them, too, because they are the ones who are taking my family to Omaha.”


“I don’t really know about the mood, but we knew we had to get it done. It worked out. The Frogpile was pretty unreal. I still don’t know how to put it in words. It’s just an unbelievable feeling.” — TCU’s Jerrick Suiter

“Can everybody here confirm that Aaron Brown will not be in Omaha? Because I’ll sleep better if that’s the case. What a great, great player.” — TCU coach Jim Schlossnagle on Pepperdine’s two-way stud

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?

Wednesday, October 22Full Scoreboard
San Francisco 10/22 8:07 PM ET
Kansas City TV: FOX
110th World Series, Game Two. San Francisco leads series, 1-0.
Full Scoreboard
Wednesday, October 22Full Scoreboard
Houston 10/22 7:00 PM ET
Orlando TV: CSN-HOU
Brooklyn 10/22 7:30 PM ET
Boston TV: CSN-NE
Washington 10/22 7:30 PM ET
New York TV: MSG
Cleveland 10/22 8:00 PM ET
Memphis TV: ESPN, FSN-OH
Minnesota 10/22 8:00 PM ET
Milwaukee TV: FSN-N, FSN-WIS
Atlanta 10/22 8:30 PM ET
San Antonio 
Portland 10/22 10:00 PM ET
LA Lakers TV: TWC SN, D
Phoenix 10/22 10:30 PM ET
LA Clippers TV: ESPN
Full Scoreboard
Week 8Full Scoreboard
San Diego 8:25 PM ET
Denver TV: CBS/NFL Network
Detroit 9:30 AM ET
Atlanta TV: FOX
Seattle 1:00 PM ET
Carolina TV: CBS
Baltimore 1:00 PM ET
Cincinnati TV: CBS
Miami 1:00 PM ET
Jacksonville TV: CBS
St. Louis 1:00 PM ET
Kansas City TV: FOX
Chicago 1:00 PM ET
New England TV: FOX
Buffalo 1:00 PM ET
Minnesota 1:00 PM ET
Tampa Bay TV: FOX
Houston 1:00 PM ET
Tennessee TV: CBS
Philadelphia 4:05 PM ET
Arizona TV: FOX
Oakland 4:25 PM ET
Cleveland TV: CBS
Indianapolis 4:25 PM ET
Pittsburgh TV: CBS
Green Bay 8:30 PM ET
New Orleans TV: NBC
Washington 8:30 PM ET
Dallas TV: ESPN
Full Scoreboard
Wednesday, October 22Full Scoreboard
Toronto0Postponed | Box
Philadelphia 10/22 8:00 PM ET
Pittsburgh TV: NBCSN, TVA Sports 2
Washington 10/22 9:30 PM ET
Edmonton TV: SN1, CSN-DC, SN360
Buffalo 10/22 10:30 PM ET
Full Scoreboard