Metroplex all-star baseball game set for Monday

Posted Thursday, Jun. 05, 2014  comments  Print Reprints

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

High school baseball playoffs in the Metroplex are over, but a select group of local players will don their school colors one final time in the upcoming North Texas High School Baseball Coaches Association All-Star Game, which will take place Monday, June 9 at 7 p.m. at Dallas Baptist University’s Horner Ballpark.

Mansfield Summit coach Chris Peacock is the president of the group, and played a key role in planning the event – the 11th time the game has been held.

“They’ve got such a nice facility and a great ballpark there at Dallas Baptist. They were really eager to host it,” he said.

The teams will be split into West and East squads, setting up a de facto Dallas versus Fort Worth feel for the game.

“It’s really, really good baseball,” Peacock said. “We have great baseball in North Texas and a lot of really good players. You’re going to watch some really high-level baseball and watch some guys that are moving on to the next level.”

Saginaw Boswell coach Steve Foster will manage the West team, and is looking forward to his first opportunity to coach in the event.

“I’m very excited about it. It’s a chance to coach some of the best kids in the Metroplex,” he said. “Of course everybody wants to win, but we’re going to be there to let everybody play and let everybody enjoy the experience. That’s main thing we’re there for. Hopefully, we will win, but the experience is the main thing.”


Dakota Wright OF Castleberry

Christian Hollie SS Fossil Ridge

Matt Heck OF Midlothian

Blake Clark 2B Arlington Heights

Ryan Ward OF Richland

Brandon Maine 3B Richland

Max Durland C Mansfield Summit

Sam Mahofski SS Mansfield Legacy

Conner Wanhanen OF Flower Mound

Dayne Sommer C Boswell

Reid Petty 1B Mansfield

Colby Fowler P Brock

Daniel Lingua 3B Arlington Martin

Marcus Perez OF Mansfield Legacy

Bryce Kidwell P L.D. Bell

BJ Myers P Flower Mound

Dimas Ojeda 1B Haltom

Trey Smith OF Colleyville Heritage

Turner Larkins P Arlington Martin

Joe Heineman P Southlake Carroll

Omar Salinas 2B Arlington


Rodney Jackson OF Mesquite

Jordan Wekewa OF Naaman Forest

Garrett McCain P Wylie East

Cameron Smith 3B Molina

Cole Carter OF Allen

Kenneth Tabor P Plano

Noah Lee C Cedar Hill

Evan Pontley SS Ferris

Francisco DeJesus OF McKinney Boyd

Sammy Ernst OF Waxahachie

Rhett Taylor 3B Gunter

Dylan Lewis OF Rockwall Heath

Sam Scarborough 2B Longview

PJ Harris 1B Frisco

Tanner Gardner 2B Frisco Centennial

Juan Rivera C W.T. White

James Rudkin 1B Plano East

Chris Muller P Jesuit

Chris Glover P Rockwall

Ian Graham SS Ennis

Jacob Patterson P Berkner

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?

Follow us on Twitter

Read our latest posts at

Game of the week