Before TCU and OSU battle for Big 12 bragging rights, take a look at league’s postseason history

Posted Sunday, May. 25, 2014  comments  Print Reprints

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

TCU and Oklahoma State play for the Big 12 tournament championship at 4:30 p.m. Sunday but more than bragging rights are on the line.

The winner most likely earns a coveted national seed when the NCAA tournament bracket is announced Monday morning. The 16 regional hosts, of which the eight national seeds are included, will be announced at 8 p.m. Sunday. The eight national seeds, however, won’t be known until Monday morning when the entire 64-team bracket is announced. Both TCU (41-15) and OSU (45-15) are locks to be host for the NCAA Regionals.

The national seeds get the added bonus of hosting the Super Regionals if they advance. Neither team has ever hosted a Super Regional, although OSU did host the 1997 Mideast Regional, which was before the current 64-team format was adopted in 1999. OSU won the Big 12 regular-season title, one game ahead of second-place TCU. The Cowboys took two of three games from the Horned Frogs in Stillwater, Okla., the last weekend in March. Since that series, TCU has won 26 of 29 games, including a 3-0 record this week at the Big 12 tournament. The Cowboys beat Texas twice on Saturday to advance to the title game. They came back in both games giving them 27 come-from-behind wins this season.

With all of that in mind, here’s a chart of how Big 12 teams have done in the postseason, with how far they went in parentheses. For clarifications, check the details below the chart.

Big 12 baseball postseason history

Year Tourney champ Reg.-season champ Other postseason berths
2013Oklahoma (Super)Kansas State (Super)OSU
2012Missouri (Reg.)*Baylor (Super)OU (Super), A&M
2010A&M (Reg.)*UT (Super-lost to TCU)BU (lost to TCU), KSU, OU (CWS)
2009*UT (CWS runner-up)UTBU, KU, KSU, MU, *OU, OSU, A&M
2008UT (Reg.)A&M (Super)MU, Neb., OU, OSU
2007A&M (Super)*UT (Reg.)BU, MU, Neb., OSU (Super)
2006Kansas (Reg.)*UT (Reg.)BU, MU (Super), *Neb., OU (Super), OSU
2005*Nebraska (CWS)*BU (CWS)/*Neb. (CWS)MU, OU, UT (CWS champ)
2004OSU (Reg.)*UT (CWS runner-up)MU, OU, A&M (Super), Tech
2003UT (CWS)UTBU (Super), MU, Neb., A&M
2002*UT (CWS champ)*UTBU, Neb. (CWS), OU, Tech
2001*Nebraska (CWS)Neb.BU, OSU, UT, Tech
2000Neb. (Super)Baylor (Reg.)OU, Tech, UT (CWS)
1999Neb. (Reg.)*A&M (CWS)*BU (Super), OSU (CWS), Tech, UT
1998Texas Tech (Reg.)*A&M (Reg. final)BU, OU, OSU
1997OU (Reg.)*Texas Tech (Reg. semis)A&M, *OSU (Reg. final)

* - National seed; Super - Super Regionals; CWS - College World Series; In the column to the far right, if no round is listed the team lost in Regionals.

Note: In 1997 and 1998, the NCAA tournament consisted of 48 teams with eight six-team Regionals. It expanded to 64 teams in 1999 with 16 four-team Regionals, including eight national seeds. The national seeds host the NCAA Super Regional if they advance.

Also note: TCU earned postseason berths each year from 2004 to 2012 as members of Conference USA and the Mountain West and advanced to the Super Regionals in 2009, 2010 and 2012. In 2010, TCU earned its first College World Series berth. TCU has hosted three Regionals (2009-11).

Stefan Stevenson, 817-390-7760 Twitter: @StevensonFWST

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?

Tuesday, September 30Full Scoreboard
No games today
Full Scoreboard
Week 5Full Scoreboard
Minnesota 8:25 PM ET
Green Bay TV: CBS/NFL Network
Chicago 1:00 PM ET
Carolina TV: FOX
Houston 1:00 PM ET
Dallas TV: CBS
Buffalo 1:00 PM ET
Detroit TV: FOX
Baltimore 1:00 PM ET
Indianapolis TV: CBS
Pittsburgh 1:00 PM ET
Jacksonville TV: CBS
Tampa Bay 1:00 PM ET
New Orleans TV: FOX
Atlanta 1:00 PM ET
NY Giants TV: FOX
St. Louis 1:00 PM ET
Philadelphia TV: FOX
Cleveland 1:00 PM ET
Tennessee TV: CBS
Arizona 4:05 PM ET
Denver TV: FOX
NY Jets 4:25 PM ET
San Diego TV: CBS
Kansas City 4:25 PM ET
San Francisco TV: CBS
Cincinnati 8:30 PM ET
New England TV: NBC
Seattle 8:30 PM ET
Washington TV: ESPN
Full Scoreboard
Tuesday, September 30Full Scoreboard
NY Rangers2Final | Box
Philadelphia «4
NY Islanders «5Final | Box
Ottawa1Final | Box
Winnipeg «2
Carolina1Final | Box
St. Louis «3
Tampa Bay «5Final | Box
Colorado0Final | Box
Calgary «2
Los Angeles «4Final | Box
San Jose1
Full Scoreboard