Home > News > Elections & Politics
Elections & Politics

Last day to vote early in primary runoff

Posted Friday, May. 23, 2014  comments  Print Reprints

Early Voting

Early voting for the May 27 primary runoff election runs through 7 p.m. Friday.


• Tarrant County Elections Center, 2700 Premier St., Fort Worth. This is the main early voting site. Emergency and limited ballots are available there.

• All Saints Catholic Church Parish Hall, 200 NW 20th St., Fort Worth

• Arlington Subcourthouse, 700 E. Abram St.

• Asia Times Square, 2615 W. Pioneer Parkway, Grand Prairie

• Bedford Public Library, 2424 Forest Ridge Drive

• Benbrook Community Center, 228 San Angelo Ave.

• B.J. Clark Annex, Room 4, 603 Southeast Parkway, Azle

• Bob Duncan Center, 2800 S. Center St., Arlington

• Center for Community Service Junior League of Arlington, 4002 W. Pioneer Parkway, Arlington

• Colleyville City Hall, 100 Main St.

• Crowley Community Center, 900 E. Glendale St.

• Dan Echols Center, 6801 Glenview Drive, North Richland Hills

• Diamond Hill/Jarvis Branch Library, 1300 N.E. 35th St., Fort Worth

• Eagle Mountain-Saginaw school district Administration Building 6, Training Room, 1200 Old Decatur Road, Saginaw

• Euless Public Library, 201 N. Ector Drive

• Elzie Odom Athletic Center, 1601 N.E. Green Oaks Blvd., Arlington

• Forest Hill Civic and Convention Center, 6901 Wichita St.

• Grapevine Convention Center, 1209 S. Main St.

• Griffin Subcourthouse, 3212 Miller Ave., Fort Worth

• Haltom City Northeast Center, 3201 Friendly Lane

• Handley/Meadowbrook Community Center, 6201 Beaty St., Fort Worth

• Hurst Recreation Center, 700 Mary Drive

• James Avenue Service Center, 5001 James Ave., Fort Worth

• JPS Health Center Viola M. Pitts/Como, Lower Level, Suite 100, 4701 Bryant Irvin Road N., Fort Worth

• Lake Park Operations Center, 5610 Lake Ridge Parkway, Grand Prairie

• Keller Town Hall, 1100 Bear Creek Parkway

• Kennedale Community Center, 316 W. Third St.

• Mansfield Subcourthouse, 1100 E. Broad St.

• North Richland Hills Public Library, 9015 Grand Ave.

• Sheriff's Office North Patrol Division, 6651 Lake Worth Blvd., Lake Worth

• Southlake Town Hall, 1400 Main St.

• South Service Center, 1100 S.W. Green Oaks Blvd., Arlington

• Southside Community Center, 959 E. Rosedale St., Fort Worth

• Southwest Community Center, 6300 Welch Ave., Fort Worth

• Southwest Subcourthouse, 6551 Granbury Road, Fort Worth

• Summerglen Branch Library, 4205 Basswood Blvd., Fort Worth

• Tarrant County Plaza Building, 201 Burnett St., Fort Worth

• Villages of Woodland Springs Amenity Center, 12209 Timberland Blvd., Fort Worth

• White Settlement Public Library, 8215 White Settlement Road

• Worth Heights Community Center, 3551 New York Ave., Fort Worth

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

Today is the last chance for Texas voters to cast their ballots early in the primary runoff election.

Anyone who doesn’t make it to the polls today between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. will have one more chance — on Tuesday, Election Day — to weigh in on a dozen races left unsettled from the March primary election.

So far, election turnout seems to be low.

“This one seems to be a little bit slower than in the past,” said Stephen Vickers, chief deputy elections administrator in Tarrant County. “But we always see an increase in turnout numbers on the last days of early voting. That’s when people run out and vote real quick.”

By mid-day Thursday, more than 15,000 Tarrant County voters — 2,153 Democrats and 13,978 Republicans — had cast their ballots in person.

Through Wednesday, 2.3 percent of Texas voters in the 15 most populated counties had voted, according to the most recent records available from the Texas secretary of state’s office.

Montgomery County had the largest percent of turnout statewide, with 4.7 percent of Republicans there casting early votes, to just 0.12 percent of Democrats who turned out.

In the last primary runoff election, 243,795 Republicans, including 34,837 in Tarrant County, and 90,519 Democrats, including 11,010 in Tarrant County, voted early, state records show.

On the ballot

On this ballot, local Democrats will vote in one local, one statewide and one federal race.

They’ll choose between David Alameel and Kesha Rogers for U.S. Senate, Jim Hogan and Richard “Kinky” Friedman for agriculture commissioner and Erika Beltran and Andrea Hilburn for State Board of Education, District 13.

Local Republicans have more races on the ballot.

They will choose between Dan Patrick and David Dewhurst for lieutenant governor, Ken Paxton and Dan Branch for attorney general, Sid Miller and Tommy Merritt for agriculture commissioner, Wayne Christian and Ryan Sitton for railroad commissioner and Patricia “Pat” Hardy and Eric Mahroum for State Board of Education, District 11.

Also on the Republican ballot: Konnie Burton and Mark Shelton are vying for Senate District 10; Atticus Gill and Carey Walker are running for judge, County Criminal Court No. 2; Bob McCoy and Alexander Kim are squaring off for judge, County Criminal Court No. 3; and Russ Casey and Lenny Lopez are running for justice of the peace, Precinct 3.

Tarrant County voters may go to any of the county’s 40-plus early-voting sites.

Bring ID

Texas voters must bring a photo ID — a driver’s license, state-issued personal ID card, concealed handgun license, military ID card, citizenship certificate with photo or passport. Any license that’s expired must not be expired for more than 60 days.

Anyone showing up at the polls to vote without a photo ID is given a chance to go home and bring the ID back.

If they don’t, they may cast a provisional ballot. But to make sure that vote is counted, they’ll have to take a valid photo ID to the elections office within six days after the election. If they don’t, the ballot will not be counted, officials say.

Sample ballots and a list of Election Day polling sites are available online at star-telegram.com/elections. For more information, call Tarrant County Elections officials at 817-831-8683.

Anna Tinsley, 817-390-7610 Twitter: @annatinsley

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?