What’s new in bookstores

Posted Sunday, May. 11, 2014  comments  Print Reprints
A

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

Here’s what’s new in bookstores this week:

•  The Skin Collector by Jeffery Deaver (Grand Central Publishing, $28) — The bestselling author’s first Lincoln Rhyme novel was The Bone Collector in 1997. Deaver’s latest is the 11th in the series featuring the quadriplegic forensic superstar and associate Amelia Sachs, and is billed as a sequel to the breakthrough novel. Another twisted serial killer is in the mix, forcing Rhyme and Sachs to solve the unusual crime of death by poison tattoo. Deaver will discuss and sign his book at 7 p.m. May 19 at the Dallas Barnes & Noble, 7700 W. Northwest Highway; 214-739-1124.

•  The Kill Switch by James Rollins and Grant Blackwood (William Morrow, $27.99) — The bestselling author (with Blackwood, a former Tom Clancy collaborator) offers a spinoff of his popular Sigma Force series with this unusual team, first introduced in 2013’s The Eye of God. Former Army Ranger Tucker Wayne and his partner (and man’s best friend), Kane, a military-trained dog, are called on to uncover the truth behind the Kill Switch, a terrifying bioweapon that’s a threat to life as we know it. For fans of Sigma Force, Rollins’ The 6th Extinction is due in August.

•  Prayer by Philip Kerr (Penguin, $26.95) — In a departure from his popular Bernie Gunther series set in 1930s Germany, the author goes the contemporary route. He sets his latest thriller in present-day Houston with a very angsty protagonist, Gil Martins, an FBI agent in the Domestic Terrorism Unit. Gil is having marital issues and a crisis of faith (the Catholic-turned-evangelical-turned-atheist questions God’s existence) along with a busy workload. There are terrorists with drones, a serial killer targeting the righteous and an interesting take on the power of prayer (or suggestion).

— Celeste Williams

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?