Wichita State’s Marshall, Creighton’s McDermott win top AP awards

Posted Thursday, Apr. 03, 2014  comments  Print Reprints

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

Wichita State coach Gregg Marshall made it to AT&T Stadium on Thursday.

Unfortunately for him, he didn’t have his team with him.

Marshall got hung up in traffic and was about 10 minutes late for his own press conference, one in which he was honored as The Associated Press National Coach of the Year.

Meanwhile, Creighton’s Doug McDermott was named the AP National Player of the Year.

Marshall led the Shockers to a 34-0 record in the regular season, the best regular season record by any NCAA team in 33 years.

“I’m just honored to be receiving this award,” said Marshall, whose team lost to Kentucky and finished 35-1. “On behalf of our team and the young men that we coached, our staff, my administration and everyone in Shocker Nation, I’m very appreciative and very humbled by this award.”

Marshall received 44 of a possible 65 votes from the national media panel. Virginia coach Tony Bennett finished second with 13 votes, Florida’s Billy Donovan was third with six votes, followed by SMU’s Larry Brown and Michigan’s John Beilein, who each received one vote.

McDermott, too, was honored with his award.

“Wow,” McDermott said. “There are some many great college basketball players this year, and to be selected for this award is a huge honor.”

A 6-foot-8 senior forward, McDermott led the nation in scoring with 26.9 points per game. He is the first player in 29 years to be named first-team All-American by The Associated Press on three occasions.

McDermott garnered 64 of a possible 65 votes and became the first player to secure that many votes. Louisville’s Russ Smith received the other vote.

McDermott’s 3,150 career points rank fifth on the NCAA Division I all-time list.

“Coming in I would have never guessed that I would be here right now,” McDermott said. “There have been lots of players who were one-and-done from the past, and certain guys who have won this award, too.”

“When I came in I was thinking that I was going to be a four-year guy, and that is how I finished it off. There has been a lot of hard work and I have tried to get better every year to get me to this point.”

Dwain Price, 817-390-7760 Twitter: @dwainprice

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse, images, internet links or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?

Friday, August 22Full Scoreboard
Baltimore1Final | Box
Chicago Cubs «4
Houston 8/22 7:05 PM ET
Cleveland TV: CSN-HOU, STO
Chicago WSox 8/22 7:05 PM ET
NY Yankees TV: CSN-CHI, MY9
St. Louis 8/22 7:05 PM ET
Philadelphia TV: FSN-MW, NBC 10
San Francisco 8/22 7:05 PM ET
Washington TV: MLB Net, CSN-BA, MASN
Tampa Bay 8/22 7:07 PM ET
Toronto TV: Sun Sports, SNET
Seattle 8/22 7:10 PM ET
Atlanta 8/22 7:10 PM ET
Cincinnati TV: MLB Net, FSN-S, FSN-OH
Kansas City 8/22 8:05 PM ET
Texas TV: FSN-KC, TXA-21
Pittsburgh 8/22 8:10 PM ET
Milwaukee TV: ROOT-PIT, FSN-WI
Detroit 8/22 8:10 PM ET
Minnesota TV: FSN-DET, FSN-N
Miami 8/22 8:40 PM ET
Colorado TV: FSN-FL, ROOT-RM
San Diego 8/22 9:40 PM ET
Arizona TV: FSN-SD, FSN-AZ
LA Angels 8/22 10:05 PM ET
Oakland TV: FSN-W, CSN-CA
NY Mets 8/22 10:10 PM ET
Los Angeles TV: SNY, SportsNet LA
Full Scoreboard
Friday, August 22Full Scoreboard
No games today
Full Scoreboard
Week 4Full Scoreboard
Pittsburgh21Final | Box
Philadelphia «31
Jacksonville 7:30 PM ET
Detroit TV: WXYZ7
Carolina 7:30 PM ET
New England TV: Panthers TV, WBZ
NY Giants 7:30 PM ET
NY Jets TV: CBS 2
Oakland 8:00 PM ET
Green Bay TV: CBS
Chicago 10:00 PM ET
Seattle TV: NFL Net, FOX32, Q13FOX
Tampa Bay 4:30 PM ET
Buffalo TV: NFL Network, WFLA
Tennessee 7:00 PM ET
Atlanta TV: WKRN, CW69
Dallas 7:00 PM ET
Miami TV: KTVT, CBS11, CBS4
Washington 7:30 PM ET
Baltimore TV: NBC4, CSN-DC, WBAL
St. Louis 8:00 PM ET
Cleveland TV: WKYC
New Orleans 8:00 PM ET
Indianapolis TV: CBS
Minnesota 8:00 PM ET
Kansas City TV: KARE 11, KCTV
Houston 9:00 PM ET
San Diego 4:00 PM ET
San Francisco TV: FOX
Cincinnati 8:00 PM ET
Arizona TV: NBC
Full Scoreboard
Friday, August 22Full Scoreboard
No games today
Full Scoreboard