Kyle Busch, Dale Earnhardt Jr. among TMS Hall of Fame honorees

Posted Monday, Mar. 24, 2014  comments  Print Reprints
More information

Texas Motorsports Hall of Fame Gala

April 3 at TMS

Tickets are $150 and available by calling 817-215-8421.

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

Kyle Busch, who won on Sunday in California to put himself in line for a spot in the new-look Chase for the Sprint Cup championship and is the defending champion of next week’s race at Texas Motor Speedway, will be among the honorees at the Texas Motorsports Hall of Fame Gala.

He and four others, including fan favorite Dale Earnhardt Jr., will be honored at a ceremony April 3 at TMS, days before the Duck Commander 500 Sprint Cup race.

Team owner Roger Penske will be enshrined into the Hall of Fame.

Busch will receive the Texas Motor Speedway Racer of the Year award, recognizing his dominating victory in the Sprint Cup race at TMS last year. It was his first in Fort Worth, despite being one of the track’s winningest drivers in the Nationwide and truck series races there.

Earnhardt, who opened the season as the Daytona 500 winner, is receiving the Gen. Thomas Sadler Award, recognizing humanitarian work.

Retired IndyCar driver Dario Franchitti, a four-time IndyCar Series champion and three-time Indianapolis 500 winner, will receive the Bruton Smith Legend Award. Franchitti exited the sport after head and neck injuries sustained in a crash last October.

Texas resident James Buescher, who grew up in Plano, and wife Krishtian are scheduled to receive the Sportsmanship Award.

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?

Wednesday, September 17Full Scoreboard
Los Angeles2Final | Box
Colorado «16
San Francisco «4Final | Box
Toronto0Bottom 6th | Box
Baltimore4@theBallpark | TV: SNET, MASN 2
Boston1Bottom 6th | Box
Pittsburgh9@theBallpark | TV: NESN, ROOT-PIT
Washington1Bottom 7th | Box
Atlanta3@theBallpark | TV: MASN, SPSO, ESPN
Miami4Bottom 7th | Box
NY Mets2@theBallpark | TV: FSN-FL, SNY
NY Yankees3Top 7th | Box
Tampa Bay2@theBallpark | TV: YES, Sun Sports
Cincinnati1Top 5th | Box
Chicago Cubs2@theBallpark | TV: FSN-OH, CSN-CHI
Cleveland1Top 5th | Box
Houston0@theBallpark | TV: STO, CSN-HOU
Chicago WSox1Top 4th | Box
Kansas City4@theBallpark | TV: WCIU, FSN-KC
Detroit4Bottom 3rd | Box
Minnesota3@theBallpark | TV: FSN-DET, FSN-N
Milwaukee0Bottom 4th | Box
St. Louis0@theBallpark | TV: FSN-WI, FSN-MW
Seattle 9/17 10:05 PM ET
Texas 9/17 10:05 PM ET
Oakland TV: FSN-SW
Philadelphia 9/17 10:10 PM ET
Full Scoreboard
Wednesday, September 17Full Scoreboard
No games today
Full Scoreboard
Week 3Full Scoreboard
Tampa Bay 8:25 PM ET
Atlanta TV: CBS, NFL Network
San Diego 1:00 PM ET
Buffalo TV: CBS
Tennessee 1:00 PM ET
Cincinnati TV: CBS
Baltimore 1:00 PM ET
Cleveland TV: CBS
Green Bay 1:00 PM ET
Detroit TV: FOX
Indianapolis 1:00 PM ET
Jacksonville TV: CBS
Oakland 1:00 PM ET
New England TV: CBS
Minnesota 1:00 PM ET
New Orleans TV: FOX
Houston 1:00 PM ET
NY Giants TV: CBS
Washington 1:00 PM ET
Philadelphia TV: FOX
Dallas 1:00 PM ET
St. Louis TV: FOX
San Francisco 4:05 PM ET
Arizona TV: FOX
Kansas City 4:25 PM ET
Miami TV: CBS
Denver 4:25 PM ET
Seattle TV: CBS
Pittsburgh 8:30 PM ET
Carolina TV: NBC
Chicago 8:30 PM ET
Full Scoreboard
Wednesday, September 17Full Scoreboard
No games today
Full Scoreboard