Election recommendations

Posted Wednesday, Feb. 19, 2014  comments  Print Reprints

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

The Star-Telegram Editorial Board has talked to candidates and studied key races in the March 4 party primary elections and offers these recommendations as voters make up their minds. Where only one party is listed, there is no contest for other party nominations.

U.S. Senate

Democrat: David Alameel

Republican: John Cornyn

U.S. House District 33

Democrat: Marc Veasey

Lieutenant governor

Republican: David Dewhurst

Attorney general

Republican: Dan Branch

Comptroller of public accounts

Republican: Harvey Hilderbran

Land commissioner

Republican: George P. Bush

Texas Senate District 10

Democrat: Libby Willis

Republican: Mark Shelton

Texas House District 90

Democrat: Lon Burnam

Texas House District 92

Republican: Andy Cargile

Texas House District 94

Republican: Diane Patrick

Tarrant County criminal district attorney

Republican: Sharen Wilson

Tarrant County commissioner, Precinct 2

Republican: Andy Nguyen

State Board of Education District 11

Republican: Patricia “Pat” Hardy

State Board of Education District 13

Democrat: Erika Beltran

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?