Charles Haley left out of 2014 Hall of Fame class

Posted Saturday, Feb. 01, 2014  comments  Print Reprints

Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2014

Derrick Brooks, LB, 1995-2008, Buccaneers

Notable: An 11-time Pro Bowl selection, Brooks arguably was the best player on Tampa Bay’s dominant defenses in the late 1990s and 2000s. … NFL Defensive Player of the Year in 2002, helped the Bucs rout the Raiders in Super Bowl XXXVII, returning an interception for a TD in title game. … Six-time All-Pro, member of All-Decade Team of the 2000s. … Never missed a game in 14 seasons.


Ray Guy*, P, 1973-86, Raiders

Notable: First punter chosen in first round of NFL Draft. … Led league in punting average in 1974, ’75, ’77. … Career average of 42.4 yards. … Six-time All-Pro, seven-time Pro Bowl selection. … Member of three Super Bowl-winning teams.


Claude Humphrey*, DE, 1968-78, Falcons; 1979-81, Eagles

Notable: NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year in 1968. ... Five-time first-team All-Pro, six-time second-team All-Pro. … Led Falcons in sacks nine seasons. … Helped Eagles reach Super Bowl XV, led Philadelpha with 14.5 sacks. … Credited with 122 career sacks, which weren’t an official stat during his playing days.


Walter Jones, OT, 1997-2008, Seahawks

Notable: Drafted sixth overall, Jones was dominant from the start of his career. … In 1998 became first Seattle offensive lineman chosen for Pro Bowl. … Six-time All-Pro and nine time Pro Bowl selection was key member of Seahawks team that reached Super Bowl XL. … Member of All-Decade Team of the 2000s.


Andre Reed, WR, 1985-99 Bills; 2000 Redskins

Notable: Career totals of 951 receptions, 13,198 yards, 87 touchdowns rank 11th, 13th and 12th in NFL history. ... Buffalo’s career leader in all categories. … Was third all-time in receptions at time of retirement. ... Member of four Bills Super Bowl teams, seven-time Pro Bowl selection. … Had 85 receptions, 1,229 yards, nine TDs in 21 playoff games.


Michael Strahan, DE, 1993-2007, Giants

Notable: Second-round selection out of tiny Texas Southern, finished career with 141.5 sacks, fifth all-time. … First-team All-Pro five times, seven-time Pro Bowl selection. … Set single-season record with 22.5 sacks in 2001 en route to Defensive Player of the Year award, also led league in 2003 with 18.5 sacks. … Recorded sack in Super Bowl XLII victory over Patriots, his final game. … Member of All-Decade Team of the 2000s.


Aeneas Williams, DB, Cardinals, 1991-2000; Rams 2001-04

Notable: Tied for NFL lead with six interceptions and was NFC Defensive Rookie of Year in 1991. … Seven-time Pro Bowl selection as cornerback also honored once as safety. … Had career-high nine interceptions in 1994. … Had at least one interception in every season but his last and had at least five in six seasons. … Returned nine interceptions for TDs. … Member of All-Decade Team of 1990s.

*Senior committee selection

Sources: Pro Football Hall of Fame,

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

Charles Haley’s wait continues.

The fifth time was not the charm for the former Dallas Cowboys defensive lineman, who again was denied entry into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Derrick Brooks, Walter Jones, Andre Reed, Michael Strahan, Aeneas Williams, Ray Guy and Claude Humphrey form the Class of 2014, announced Saturday night. Brooks and Jones earned enshrinement as first-year eligible candidates, and Strahan made it after missing last year in his first year of eligibility.

Williams and Reed have waited longer, with Reed in his ninth year of eligibility and Williams in his fifth. Guy, the first punter to earn induction and only the second true specialist, and Humphrey were seniors nominees.

The seven-man class will be enshrined in Canton this summer.

The 46 selectors met for a record 8 hours, 59 minutes, with Haley’s discussion taking 25 minutes. Discussion on Tony Dungy lasted 47 minutes, the longest of the day, with Brooks taking only 10 minutes.

Haley made the cut to 10, but he, Jerome Bettis, Kevin Greene, Marvin Harrison and Will Shields were eliminated in the reduction to five. Morten Andersen, Tim Brown, Eddie DeBartolo Jr., Tony Dungy and John Lynch were eliminated from consideration in the first reduction ballot from 15 to 10.

Haley, whose final retirement came after the 1999 season, has been eligible for enshrinement for 10 years. In that time, he has watched seven teammates inducted into the Hall of Fame.

It had seemed this might be Haley’s year.

He remains the only player with five Super Bowl rings, winning two with the San Francisco 49ers and three with the Cowboys.

Haley’s teams went 153-66, including 19-6 in the postseason. Only once in 12 regular seasons did his team have a losing record. That was in 1999 after he had retired and then unretired.

His teams won 10 division titles, and he played in seven NFC Championship Games. His teams missed the playoffs only twice.

Haley now hopes 2015 is his year. Kurt Warner, Junior Seau and Orlando Pace are among the first-year eligible candidates next year.

Charean Williams 817-390-7760 Twitter: @NFLCharean

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?

Wednesday, November 26Full Scoreboard
No games today
Full Scoreboard
Wednesday, November 26Full Scoreboard
Portland453rd Qtr | Box
Charlotte56TV: CSN-NW, SPSO
Washington463rd Qtr | Box
Cleveland58TV: CSN-DC, FSN-OH
Golden State653rd Qtr | Box
Orlando52TV: CSN-BA, FSN-FL
Brooklyn493rd Qtr 12:00 | Box
Philadelphia41TV: YES, CSN-PHI
Toronto402nd Qtr 8:22 | Box
Atlanta33TV: SN 360, SPSO
New York312nd Qtr 8:14 | Box
LA Clippers292nd Qtr 7:48 | Box
Detroit37TV: FSN-PT, FSN-DET
Sacramento51st Qtr 8:35 | Box
Milwaukee101st Qtr 7:31 | Box
Minnesota8TV: FSN-WI, FSN-N+
Utah91st Qtr 8:07 | Box
Oklahoma City6TV: FSN-OK
Indiana 11/26 8:30 PM ET
San Antonio TV: FSN-IN, FSN-SW
Denver 11/26 9:00 PM ET
Phoenix TV: Altitude2, FSN-AZ
Memphis 11/26 10:30 PM ET
Full Scoreboard
Week 13Full Scoreboard
Chicago 12:30 PM ET
Detroit TV: CBS
Philadelphia 4:30 PM ET
Dallas TV: FOX
Seattle 8:30 PM ET
San Francisco TV: NBC
San Diego 1:00 PM ET
Baltimore TV: CBS
Cleveland 1:00 PM ET
Buffalo TV: CBS
Tennessee 1:00 PM ET
Houston TV: CBS
Washington 1:00 PM ET
Indianapolis TV: FOX
NY Giants 1:00 PM ET
Jacksonville TV: FOX
Carolina 1:00 PM ET
Minnesota TV: FOX
New Orleans 1:00 PM ET
Pittsburgh TV: FOX
Oakland 1:00 PM ET
St. Louis TV: CBS
Cincinnati 1:00 PM ET
Tampa Bay TV: CBS
Arizona 4:05 PM ET
Atlanta TV: FOX
New England 4:25 PM ET
Green Bay TV: CBS
Denver 8:30 PM ET
Kansas City TV: NBC
Miami 8:30 PM ET
Full Scoreboard
Wednesday, November 26Full Scoreboard
Washington12nd Prd 9:17 | Box
NY Islanders2TV: CSN-DC+, MSG+
Winnipeg12nd Prd 9:51 | Box
Buffalo0TV: SN1, MSG-BUF
Philadelphia02nd Prd | Box
NY Rangers22nd Prd | Box
Tampa Bay2TV: MSG 2, SUN
Carolina02nd Prd | Box
Toronto01st Prd :11 | Box
Pittsburgh2TV: TVA Sports, SN, ROOT-PIT
Los Angeles11st Prd 14:37 | Box
Minnesota0TV: FSN-W, FSN-N
Chicago 11/26 9:00 PM ET
Colorado TV: TVA 2, CSN-CH, Altitude
Calgary 11/26 10:30 PM ET
San Jose TV: SN-W, CSN-CA
Full Scoreboard