Anne Marion, Jay Novacek among inductees of the Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame

Posted Thursday, Jan. 16, 2014  comments  Print Reprints

Induction ceremony

The Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame 2014 induction ceremony is at 7 p.m. Thursday at the hall, 128 East Exchange Ave., Barn A, in the Fort Worth Stockyards.

• The event is sold out

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

Anne Marion, owner of the legendary 6666 Ranch, is among six honorees who will be inducted into Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame Thursday at the Fort Worth Stockyards.

The others are cutting horse competitors David and Stacie McDavid, former Dallas Cowboys tight end Jay Novacek, rodeo and cutting horse show organizer Bobby Norris and team roper Walt Woodard.

The induction ceremony begins at 7 p.m. It is sold out.

“The great thing about this class is there’s a wider spectrum of inductees,” said Pam Minick, a member of the Hall who will emcee the 2014 induction ceremony. “On some years, it’s weighted more with ranchers and others it’s more about rodeo stars. But this year, it’s legendary ranch owners and legendary ranches along with rodeo stars.”

Marion, of Fort Worth, is the president of Burnett Ranches LLC, which includes the 6666 Ranch in King County and the Dixon Creek Ranch in Carson County. Her ranches, which cover 275,000 acres, are well-known for breeding race and ranch horses. The “Four Sixes” is also a working cattle operation with more than a century of breeding Black Angus cattle.

“Anne Marion is well respected for her great stewardship of the land and her ranches have been a pioneer of looking at the strength of horses and breeding to make the next generation better,” Minick said “Though she’s known for her philanthropy, she’s made a big difference in the ranching industry.”

Though David and Stacie McDavid are best known for creating an automobile empire and being former owners of the NBA’s Dallas Mavericks, they are also key players in the National Cutting Horse Association. Both are prize-winning non-pro competitors and are the owners of the gelding Indian Rick, who won the 2011 NCHA Classic Challenge open division title in Fort Worth.

Novacek has been a familiar face at Fort Worth NCHA shows over the past two decades. He took up the sport in the early 1990s when he was a star Cowboys tight end. In 2012, Novacek won the Careity Foundation Celebrity Cutting, which is conducted in conjunction with the NCHA Futurity, the sport’s most prestigious show, which is held at Will Rogers Memorial Coliseum each December.

Norris raises and trains cutting horses at his Burleson ranch. In the early 1990s, he presided over the American Cutting Horse Association, which was on a mission to establish a circuit that catered to common-man competitors. More than two decades ago, he began the Bobby Norris Roundup For Autism. He currently serves as a board member for the organization and the Autism Treatment Centers of Texas.

Woodard, who lives in Stephenville, has qualified for the National Finals Rodeo 20 times (1976-1990, 1993, 2006-2008, 2011), taking home two Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association world championships. Remarkably, those world titles came in 1981, and then 26 years later in 2007 (when he was 52).

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?

Saturday, November 22Full Scoreboard
No games today
Full Scoreboard
Saturday, November 22Full Scoreboard
Phoenix 11/22 7:00 PM ET
Indiana TV: FSN-AZ, FSN-IN
Miami 11/22 7:00 PM ET
Orlando TV: Sun Sports, FSN-FL
Toronto 11/22 7:30 PM ET
Cleveland TV: TSN, FSN-OH
Philadelphia 11/22 7:30 PM ET
Dallas 11/22 8:00 PM ET
Sacramento 11/22 8:00 PM ET
Minnesota TV: CSN-CA, FSN-N
Washington 11/22 8:30 PM ET
Milwaukee TV: CSN-DC+, FSN-WI
Brooklyn 11/22 8:30 PM ET
San Antonio TV: YES, FSN-SW
New Orleans 11/22 9:00 PM ET
Full Scoreboard
Week 12Full Scoreboard
Kansas City20Final | Box
Oakland «24Gridiron Replay
Cleveland 1:00 PM ET
Atlanta TV: CBS
Tampa Bay 1:00 PM ET
Chicago TV: FOX
Cincinnati 1:00 PM ET
Houston TV: CBS
Jacksonville 1:00 PM ET
Indianapolis TV: CBS
Green Bay 1:00 PM ET
Minnesota TV: FOX
Detroit 1:00 PM ET
New England TV: FOX
Tennessee 1:00 PM ET
Philadelphia TV: CBS
St. Louis 4:05 PM ET
San Diego TV: FOX
Arizona 4:05 PM ET
Seattle TV: FOX
Miami 4:25 PM ET
Denver TV: CBS
Washington 4:25 PM ET
San Francisco TV: CBS
Dallas 8:30 PM ET
NY Giants TV: NBC
NY Jets 7:00 PM ET
Buffalo TV: CBS
Baltimore 8:30 PM ET
New Orleans TV: ESPN
Full Scoreboard
Saturday, November 22Full Scoreboard
St. Louis 11/22 3:00 PM ET
Ottawa TV: FSN-MW, RDS, TSN5
Montreal 11/22 7:00 PM ET
Detroit 11/22 7:00 PM ET
Toronto TV: CBC, FSN-DET
Minnesota 11/22 7:00 PM ET
Tampa Bay TV: FSN-N+, SUN
Pittsburgh 11/22 7:00 PM ET
NY Islanders TV: ROOT-PIT, MSG+
Columbus 11/22 7:00 PM ET
Philadelphia TV: FSN-OH, CSN-PHI
Buffalo 11/22 7:00 PM ET
Washington TV: MSG-BUF, CSN-DC
Florida 11/22 8:00 PM ET
Nashville TV: FSN-FL
Los Angeles 11/22 8:00 PM ET
Dallas TV: FSN-W, FSN-SW+
Carolina 11/22 9:00 PM ET
Colorado TV: FSN-CAR, Altitude
New Jersey 11/22 10:00 PM ET
Calgary TV: MSG+2, SNET
Chicago 11/22 10:00 PM ET
Edmonton TV: CBC, TVA Sports 2, WGN
Arizona 11/22 10:30 PM ET
Full Scoreboard