Dream state: Half of UIL football finals have defending champ

Posted Wednesday, Dec. 18, 2013  comments  Print Reprints
More information

Championship games

at AT&T Stadium. TV: FSSW or FSSW Plus


10 a.m., A Div. I: Shiner (11-3) vs. Stamford (13-1)

1 p.m., A Div. II: Falls City (14-0) vs.

Wellington (13-0)

5 p.m., 2A Div. I: Cameron Yoe (14-1) vs.

Wall (15-0)

8 p.m., 2A Div. II: Refugio (14-1) vs. Cisco (15-0)


Noon, 3A Div. I: Carthage (14-1) vs. Kilgore (14-0)

4 p.m., 3A Div. II: Fairfield (15-0) vs. Argyle (15-0)

8 p.m., 4A Div. I: San Antonio Northside

Brennan (15-0) vs. Denton Guyer (13-2)


Noon, 4A Div. II: Brenham (14-1) vs. Aledo (15-0)

4 p.m., 5A Div. I: Pearland (14-1) vs. Allen (15-0)

8 p.m., 5A Div. II: Katy (15-0) vs. Cedar Hill (13-2)

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

The 2013 UIL Football State Championships, which feature 10 games at Arlington’s AT&T Stadium over a three-day stretch, will have a noticeably similar feel to last season’s high school football pinnacle.

Half of the games include schools defending a 2012 state title. Stamford (Class A Division I), Cameron Yoe (2A Division I), Denton Guyer (4A Division I), Katy (5A Division II) and Allen (5A Division I) all enter their matchups as reigning champions.

That doesn’t add to the stress, Guyer coach John Walsh said.

“There won’t be any extra pressure out there on Friday,” he said. “We like to treat each year as its own little storybook.”

Class 5A Division II finalist Cedar Hill isn’t defending a title, but instead the Longhorns are looking to avenge a 35-24 defeat to the Katy Tigers in last season’s 5A Division II title game.

“Up until this point I really didn’t care who we played,” said Longhorns coach Joey McGuire, who also led Cedar Hill to a title in 2006. “I just wanted an opportunity to get back to a state championship game and win a state championship with a different team.

“I guess the easy thing would be to say there’s some revenge factor,” he added. “But when you’re playing Katy, you have to be careful what you ask for because they’re that good again.”

Cedar Hill led that 2012 title game in the fourth quarter before Katy rallied to take the trophy.

“My seniors are definitely hungry,” McGuire said. “I think [last year’s] experience made them a better football team and a more focused football team, and I hope that pays off this time.”

All 10 state championship games are scheduled to be telecast locally on Fox Sports Southwest or FSSW Plus.


Class A Division I, 10 a.m.: Shiner (11-3) vs. Stamford (13-1), FSSW

Stamford makes its third consecutive appearance in the state title game, having won the championship last season 35-28 over Mart. Shiner came up one win shy of the title game last season, falling in the state semifinals. Stamford’s lone loss this season came to 2A state title contender Cisco.

Class A Division II, 1 p.m.: Falls City (14-0) vs. Wellington (13-0), FSSW

Falls City won the state title in 2010, and both of these teams were state semifinalists last season. Falls City won its first three playoff games by a combined score of 151-0 before slipping by Tenaha 36-34. Wellington is led by 2012 all-state QB Klark Ashmore.

Class 2A Division I, 5 p.m.: Cameron Yoe (14-1) vs. Wall (15-0 ), FSSW Plus

Cameron Yoe is making its third title game appearance in the last four years, having won a championship last season by defeating Daingerfield, which knocked Wall out in the semifinal round in 2012. Yoe is led defensively by reigning 2A defensive player of the year Somari Wright.

Class 2A Div. II, 8 p.m.: Refugio (14-1) vs. Cisco (15-0), FSSW Plus

This is a rematch of the 2011 state title game, which Refugio won 36-35. Cisco is making its fifth title game appearance since 2002, but the Loboes have gone 0-4 in previous trips. Cisco has won its playoff games by an average of 36 points; Refugio’s offense is averaging 61 points per game in the playoffs.


Class 3A Division I, Noon: Carthage (14-1) vs. Kilgore (14-0), FSSW

Kilgore dispatched defending state champion Stephenville 44-6 in the semifinals, avenging a loss to the Yellow Jackets in the semifinal round last season. Carthage won three straight 3A Division II titles from 2008-2010. These schools are separated by roughly 45 miles.

Class 3A Division II, 4 p.m.: Fairfield (15-0) vs. Argyle (15-0), FSSW

Argyle, which finished No. 1 in the final Associated Press 3A state poll, reached the 3A Division II state championship game in 2011, where it lost to Wimberley. Fairfield, which was ranked No. 6 in the final AP poll this season, is averaging more than 56 points per game in the playoffs.

Class 4A Division I, 8 p.m.: San Antonio Northside Brennan (15-0) vs. Denton Guyer (13-2), FSSW Plus

Back in 2010, Guyer reached the 5A Division II final and lost to Cibolo Steele, while Brennan was coming off an 0-10 season in its first year as a program. Now in 2013, Guyer is defending a state title and 4-year-old Brennan is 15-0. Whoever succeeds Mack Brown at Texas will be interested in this game. Quarterback Jerrod Heard, who accounted for seven touchdowns in Guyer’s victory over Georgetown in the state championship game last year, faces fellow Texas commitment and defensive end Derick Roberson, who leads a Brennan defense that has allowed only 51 points all season.


Class 4A Division II, Noon: Brenham (14-1) vs. Aledo (15-0), FSSW

Aledo is looking to win its third state title at the home of the Dallas Cowboys, having beaten Manvel in 2011 and LaMarque in 2010. A year earlier, in 2009, Aledo beat Brenham 35-21 in the 4A Division I state championship game behind sophomore Johnathan Gray’s 252 yards and four scores. The Bearcats have won four state championships since 1998 and are on pace to score more than 1,000 points this season, averaging just under 66 points per game. Brenham won its first three playoff games by a combined nine points.

5A Division I, 4 p.m.: Pearland (14-1) vs. Allen (15-0), FSSW

Both teams are coming off remarkable wins in their state semifinal matchups. Allen, which overcame a 15-point, fourth-quarter deficit to beat DeSoto last week, has won 26 straight games and is looking to become the first 5A repeat champion since Katy in 2007-2008. The Eagles beat Houston Lamar in the state final last season 35-21. Pearland won a state title in 2010 by defeating Euless Trinity.

5A Division II, 8 p.m.: Katy (15-0) vs. Cedar Hill (13-2), FSSW Plus

This is a rematch of last season’s Division II title game, which Katy won 35-24 after trailing in the fourth quarter. Katy was the last repeat 5A state champion, having won Division II titles in 2007-2008, and is making its seventh title game appearance in the last 10 years. The Tigers have surrendered more than two touchdowns in a game only once this season. Cedar Hill’s losses this season came to Allen, which is playing for the 5A Division I championship, and to district opponent DeSoto, arguably the best team in the state not playing this weekend.

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?

Follow us on Twitter

Read our latest posts at twitter.com/dfwvarsity

Game of the week