TCU’s Jason Verrett earns share of Big 12 honor

Posted Wednesday, Dec. 11, 2013  comments  Print Reprints

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

TCU cornerback Jason Verrett was named the Big 12 Co-Defensive Player of the Year and defensive end Chucky Hunter and safety Sam Carter earned second team honors.

Verrett shared the award with Texas defensive end Jackson Jeffcoat, as voted on by league coaches.

Big 12 champ Baylor led the league with a school-record 10 first team players and earned three awards, including Coach of the Year for Art Briles, Offensive Player of the Year for quarterback Bryce Petty and Offensive lineman of the Year for Cyril Richardson.

Oklahoma State had a league-high 11 players named to the team, including for on the first team.

Big 12 Superlatives and All-Big 12 team

As voted on by the league’s coaches:

Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year

Art Briles, Baylor

Defensive Lineman of the Year

Ryan Mueller, Kansas State

Offensive Newcomer of the Year

Charles Sims, West Virginia

Co-Defensive Players of the Year

Jason Verrett, TCU; Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas

Offensive Freshman of the Year

Baker Mayfield, Texas Tech

Defensive Newcomer of the Year

Isaiah Johnson, Kansas

Offensive Player of the Year

Bryce Petty, Baylor

Defensive Freshman of the Year

Dominique Alexander, Oklahoma

Offensive lineman of the Year

Cyril Richardson, Baylor

Special teams Player of the Year

Tyler Lockett, Kansas State

First team offense

Quarterback: Bryce Petty, Baylor; Running back: Lache Seastrunk, Baylor; Charles Sims, West Virginia; Fullback: Trey Millard, Oklahoma; Wide receivers: Antwan Goodley, Baylor; Tevin Reese, Baylor; Tyler Lockett, Kansas State; Tight end: Jace Amaro, Texas Tech; Offensive line: Spencer Drango, Baylor; Cyril Richardson, Baylor; B.J. Finney, Kansas State; Gabe Ikard, Oklahoma; Parker Graham, Oklahoma State; Place kicker: Anthony Fera, Texas; Kick returner/Punt returner: Tyler Lockett, Kansas State.

First team defense

Defensive line: Chris McAllister, Baylor; Ryan Mueller, Kansas State; Charles Tapper, Oklahoma; Calvin Barnett, Oklahoma State; Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas; Linebacker: Eddie Lackey, Baylor; Jeremiah George, Iowa State; Shaun Lewis, Oklahoma State; Defensive back: Ahmad Dixon, Baylor; Ty Zimmerman, Kansas State; Aaron Colvin, Oklahoma; Justin Gilbert, Oklahoma State; Jason Verrett, TCU; Punter: Spencer Roth, Baylor.

Second team offense

Quarterback: Clint Chelf, Oklahoma State; Running back: James Sims, Kansas; Malcolm Brown, Texas; Fullback: Kye Staley, Oklahoma State; Wide receiver: Jalen Saunders, Oklahoma; Josh Stewart, Oklahoma State; Jaxon Shipley, Texas; Tight end: E.J. Bibbs, Iowa State; Offensive line: Cody Whitehair, Kansas State; Daryl Williams, Oklahoma; Donald Hawkins, Texas; Trey Hopkins, Texas; Le’Raven, Texas Tech; Place kicker: Michael Hunnicutt, Oklahoma; Kick returner/Punt returner: Josh Stewart, Oklahoma State.

Second team defense

Defensive line: Tyler Johnson, Oklahoma State; Chucky Hunter, TCU; Cedric Reed, Texas; Kerry Hyder, Texas Tech; Will Clarke, West Virginia; Linebacker: Ben Heeney, Kansas; Eric Striker, Oklahoma; Caleb Lavey, Oklahoma State; Defensive back: Jacques Washington, Iowa State; Daytawion Lowe, Oklahoma State; Sam Carter, TCU; Darwin Cook, West Virginia; Punter: Kirby Van Der Kamp, Iowa State; Nick O’Toole, West Virginia.

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?

Tuesday, October 21Full Scoreboard
San Francisco «7Final | Box
Kansas City1
110th World Series, Game One. San Francisco leads series, 1-0.
Full Scoreboard
Tuesday, October 21Full Scoreboard
Houston85Final | Box
Miami «90
Indiana89Final | Box
Minnesota «107
Utah «105Final | Box
Oklahoma City91
Portland «93Final | Box
Phoenix «114Final(OT) | Box
LA Lakers108
LA Clippers107Final | Box
Golden State «125
Full Scoreboard
Week 8Full Scoreboard
San Diego 8:25 PM ET
Denver TV: CBS/NFL Network
Detroit 9:30 AM ET
Atlanta TV: FOX
Seattle 1:00 PM ET
Carolina TV: CBS
Baltimore 1:00 PM ET
Cincinnati TV: CBS
Miami 1:00 PM ET
Jacksonville TV: CBS
St. Louis 1:00 PM ET
Kansas City TV: FOX
Chicago 1:00 PM ET
New England TV: FOX
Buffalo 1:00 PM ET
Minnesota 1:00 PM ET
Tampa Bay TV: FOX
Houston 1:00 PM ET
Tennessee TV: CBS
Philadelphia 4:05 PM ET
Arizona TV: FOX
Oakland 4:25 PM ET
Cleveland TV: CBS
Indianapolis 4:25 PM ET
Pittsburgh TV: CBS
Green Bay 8:30 PM ET
New Orleans TV: NBC
Washington 8:30 PM ET
Dallas TV: ESPN
Full Scoreboard
Tuesday, October 21Full Scoreboard
San Jose3Final | Box
Boston «5
NY Rangers «4Final(OT) | Box
New Jersey3
Toronto «5Final | Box
NY Islanders2
Detroit1Final(OT) | Box
Montreal «2
Arizona3Final(SO) | Box
Nashville «4
Carolina1Final | Box
Winnipeg «3
Philadelphia0Final | Box
Chicago «4
Vancouver3Final | Box
Dallas «6
Florida «4Final(OT) | Box
Tampa Bay «2Final(OT) | Box
Full Scoreboard