Breaking down the O’Reilly Auto Parts Challenge

Posted Saturday, Nov. 02, 2013  comments  Print Reprints

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

Why Brad Keselowski won

The defending Sprint Cup champion had a finely tuned machine racing over Texas Motor Speedway’s 1.5-mile oval. In this type of car, Keselowski said, the only concern is “Don’t screw it up.… you have the best car.”

Turning point

Brad Keselowski and Denny Hamlin battled for the lead position down the stretch, until Lap 187, when Keselowski overtook his Sprint Cup peer in the last 13 laps.

Key stat

12 victories for Penske Racing’s No. 22 in 2013, one short of tying the record held by Joe Gibbs’ No. 18 in 2010. Penske’s No. 22 leads the owner’s standings, 26 points ahead of Gibbs’ No. 54, driven on Saturday by Kyle Busch.


“I was thinking that we could gain three today.… We will see what happens. We didn’t lose any and that is the key thing. If we can take one or two off the following weekend that puts the pressure on him.”

— Sam Hornish Jr., assessing his six-point deficit in the Nationwide Series standings.


• Kyle Busch jumped in the Gibbs’ No. 54 and was a player until he spun out on Lap 111, resulting in a blown back right tire and a damaged back.

• Rookie Austin Bowman was the pole sitter, running the best lap in Saturday morning’s qualifying in 186.2 mph. He was the only driver to break 186.

• Kyle Larson improved his lead in the Rookie of the Year standings, over Austin Bowman, with a ninth-place finish on Saturday, the best among first-year drivers competing.

• Denny Hamlin posted his eighth top-10 finish in 11 starts at TMS.

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?

Saturday, September 20Full Scoreboard
No games today
Full Scoreboard
Week 3Full Scoreboard
Tampa Bay14Final | Box
Atlanta «56Gridiron Replay
San Diego 1:00 PM ET
Buffalo TV: CBS
Tennessee 1:00 PM ET
Cincinnati TV: CBS
Baltimore 1:00 PM ET
Cleveland TV: CBS
Green Bay 1:00 PM ET
Detroit TV: FOX
Indianapolis 1:00 PM ET
Jacksonville TV: CBS
Oakland 1:00 PM ET
New England TV: CBS
Minnesota 1:00 PM ET
New Orleans TV: FOX
Houston 1:00 PM ET
NY Giants TV: CBS
Washington 1:00 PM ET
Philadelphia TV: FOX
Dallas 1:00 PM ET
St. Louis TV: FOX
San Francisco 4:05 PM ET
Arizona TV: FOX
Kansas City 4:25 PM ET
Miami TV: CBS
Denver 4:25 PM ET
Seattle TV: CBS
Pittsburgh 8:30 PM ET
Carolina TV: NBC
Chicago 8:30 PM ET
Full Scoreboard
Saturday, September 20Full Scoreboard
No games today
Full Scoreboard