Fort Worth councilman named Texas Municipal League president

Posted Monday, Oct. 14, 2013  comments  Print Reprints

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

Editor’s note: This story has been modified from the original version in print and online to correct a quote from Jungus Jordan.

Jungus Jordan, a long-time city councilman and former chairman of the North Central Texas Regional Transportation Council, is taking on a new role as president of the Texas Municipal League.

“TML is a great organization and it is pretty humbling when you see all the mayors, city council members, city managers and all the other members here,” Jordan said.

Jordan said he plans to focus on the infrastructure needs in Texas cities, especially transportation, as cities across the state prepare for the next legislative session.

“If we provide the infrastructure today for the future, we will generate jobs and we will generate an economy that supports a revenue flow that will be a return on investment. Unfortunately, over the past 20 years or so we have let the infrastructure suffer, and we think the state legislature has heard us,” Jordan said.

He was sworn in as the new president on Friday, after a term as the TML’s president-elect.

Created in 1913 to provide a forum for cities to confer on municipal issues, the Texas Municipal League has more than 1,130 cities as members, according to the website.

The League’s constitution states the purpose of the League is "to render services which individual cities have neither time, money nor strength to do alone.” Those services can include representing cities’ interests to the legislature, sponsoring annual conferences and providing administrative services.

Jordan has been on the City Council since 2005 and also serves as a member of the North Central Texas Clean Air Steering Committee, the Tarrant Regional Transportation Coalition, the North Central Texas Regional Transportation Council and Rail North Texas.

Past Fort Worth presidents of the League include then-Mayor Kenneth Barr in 1999, Mayor Bob Bolen in 1986, former City Councilman Edgar Deen in 1951, city attorney R.E. Rouer in 1939 and Mayor W.E. Cockrell in 1922.

Caty Hirst, 817-390-7954 Twitter, @CatyHirst

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse, images, internet links or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?