Red Bull Air Race coming to Texas Motor Speedway

Posted Tuesday, Oct. 08, 2013  comments  Print Reprints
More information 2014 Red Bull Air Race schedule Feb. 28-March 1: Abu Dhabi May 17-18: Kuala Lumpur/Putrajaya, Malaysia July 26-27: Gdynia, Poland Aug. 16-17: Ascot, England Sept. 6-7: Texas Motor Speedway, Fort Worth Oct. 11-12: Las Vegas Nov. 1-2: Kunshan, China

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

The Red Bull Air Race World Championship’s seven-race 2014 schedule includes a stop at Texas Motor Speedway.

In the competition scheduled for Sept. 6-7, pilots fly lightweight planes around air-filled pylons through an aerial track 50 to 80 feet above ground. Texas is the fifth stop on the schedule. Las Vegas is the only other North American stop.

Air racing was created in 2003, but there haven’t been races since 2010 as the sport reorganized and worked to improve safety, according to an announcement from Texas Motor Speedway.

“We like doing things no one expects. I think the thing that will be so appealing to motorsports fans and gearheads is that this is a real competition,” TMS president Eddie Gossage said in the statement. “Red Bull Air Race is truly a head-to-head, nose-to-nose competition on the clock, where these pilots are running through the Air Gates to see who can turn in the best time.”

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?

Wednesday, October 01Full Scoreboard
No games today
Full Scoreboard
Week 5Full Scoreboard
Minnesota 8:25 PM ET
Green Bay TV: CBS/NFL Network
Chicago 1:00 PM ET
Carolina TV: FOX
Houston 1:00 PM ET
Dallas TV: CBS
Buffalo 1:00 PM ET
Detroit TV: FOX
Baltimore 1:00 PM ET
Indianapolis TV: CBS
Pittsburgh 1:00 PM ET
Jacksonville TV: CBS
Tampa Bay 1:00 PM ET
New Orleans TV: FOX
Atlanta 1:00 PM ET
NY Giants TV: FOX
St. Louis 1:00 PM ET
Philadelphia TV: FOX
Cleveland 1:00 PM ET
Tennessee TV: CBS
Arizona 4:05 PM ET
Denver TV: FOX
NY Jets 4:25 PM ET
San Diego TV: CBS
Kansas City 4:25 PM ET
San Francisco TV: CBS
Cincinnati 8:30 PM ET
New England TV: NBC
Seattle 8:30 PM ET
Washington TV: ESPN
Full Scoreboard
Wednesday, October 01Full Scoreboard
Carolina3Final | Box
Columbus «6
Washington1Final | Box
Buffalo «6
Pittsburgh «2Final | Box
Montreal «3Final | Box
Arizona2Final | Box
Edmonton «3
Full Scoreboard