Small college notes: West Texas A&M picked to win Lone Star football title

Posted Wednesday, Jul. 31, 2013  comments  Print Reprints

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

West Texas A&M has been selected to repeat as champion of the Lone Star Conference.

The Buffaloes, NCAA Division II semifinalists in 2012, received 16 of the 21 first-place votes and swept the preseason awards as voted on by coaches and sports information directors.

Senior quarterback Dustin Vaughan was named the LSC Preseason Offensive Player of the Year and his teammate, senior defensive lineman Ethan Westbrooks, received the defensive honor.

“It’s an honor and a blessing to receive an honor like that,” said Vaughan, who’s from Corpus Christi. “You almost have to forget about it when you leave this room, though. We know that whatever shows up on that board is washed when you leave this room. I want us to be competitive in every game.”

Midwestern State, co-champion in 2012, was selected second, receiving three first-place votes. Tarleton State received one and Texas A&M-Kingsville rounded out the top four. Angelo State, Eastern New Mexico and Texas A&M-Commerce rounded out the rankings.

McMurry joining LSC

McMurry University in Abilene will join the LSC football lineup in 2014. With the addition of an eighth team, the league will add a two-week playoff after a seven-week round robin to decide the conference champion.

All eight teams will compete in the playoff, but only the top four seeds will play for the conference crown.

Abilene Christian and Incarnate Word left the LSC after 2012 in moving to Division I.

Bowie grad looking to lead LSC

Midwestern State running back Keidrick Jackson, a senior from Arlington Bowie, led the LSC with 21 touchdowns in 2012 and is looking for a repeat performance to help lead Midwestern State to its third consecutive conference crown.

“It starts up front for us,” Jackson said. “I don’t get a touchdown without the guys in front of me. I have a drive to keep going, and the line makes big holes for me so that I can score.”

Tarleton seeking to build on 2012

Tarleton State has improved each year under coach Cary Fowler.

After finishing 3-8 in Fowler’s first year in 2010, the Texans have been 6-4 and 6-5 the past two seasons.

“When you have 27 guys that started at least three football games last year I feel like we have a good chance to make a run,” Fowler said. “Of course, you have to get lucky and luck is involved. The team that wins the championship in the conference is the team that can get luck, and the injuries not mounting up on them.”

Tarleton State opens Sept. 14 against Midwestern State at AT&T Stadium as part of the Lone Star Football Festival.

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse, images, internet links or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?

Tuesday, July 22Full Scoreboard
Texas0Bottom 1st | Box
NY Yankees0@theBallpark | TV: FSN-SW, MY9
San Francisco1Top 1st | Box
Philadelphia0@theBallpark | TV: CSN-BA, CSN-PHI, MLB Net
Los Angeles0Bottom 1st | Box
Pittsburgh0@theBallpark | TV: SportsNet LA, ROOT-PIT
Boston0Top 2nd | Box
Toronto0@theBallpark | TV: NESN, SNET
Miami0Top 1st | Box
Atlanta0@theBallpark | TV: FSN-FL, SPSO, MLB Network
San Diego 7/22 8:05 PM ET
Chicago Cubs TV: FSN-SD, CSN-CHI+
Kansas City 7/22 8:10 PM ET
Chicago WSox TV: FSN-KC, CSN-CHI
Cincinnati 7/22 8:10 PM ET
Milwaukee TV: FSN-OH, FSN-WI
Cleveland 7/22 8:10 PM ET
Minnesota TV: STO, FSN-N
Tampa Bay 7/22 8:15 PM ET
St. Louis TV: Sun Sports, FSN-MW
Washington 7/22 8:40 PM ET
Colorado TV: MASN, ROOT-RM
Detroit 7/22 9:40 PM ET
Baltimore 7/22 10:05 PM ET
LA Angels TV: MASN 2, FSN-W
Houston 7/22 10:05 PM ET
NY Mets 7/22 10:10 PM ET
Seattle TV: SNY, ROOT-NW
Full Scoreboard
Tuesday, July 22Full Scoreboard
No games today
Full Scoreboard
Tuesday, July 22Full Scoreboard
No games today
Full Scoreboard