Area mayors take on speedway challenge

Posted Tuesday, Jul. 30, 2013  comments  Print Reprints

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

Roanoke Mayor Scooter Gierisch and Trophy Club Mayor Connie White were among a group of local mayors who strapped on the helmets, kicked in the horsepower and sped down Texas Motor Speedway in the Third Annual Mayor’s Cup drag racing event last week.

They were among 13 mayors who who drove matching Scion cars on a 1/8-mile strip set up at the speedway.

Frisco Mayor Maher Maso won the competition earning the Mayor’s Cup trophy and bragging rights for a year.

Other mayors that competed were Betsy Price, Forth Worth; John Terrell, southlake; David Cook, Mansfield; Oscar Trevino, North Richland Hills; Richard Hutchison, Haltom City; Laura Maczka, Richardson; Greg Scott, Justin; Peggy Krueger, Argyle; Jerry Diettrich, Benbrook; Kevin Falconer, Mayor Pro Tem of Carrolton.

The event highlighted the season finale of Friday Night Drags presented by Scion. Friday Night Drags was created in 2009 to help curtail illegal street racing in the Metroplex by providing a safer alternative at the speedway.

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse, images, internet links or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?