Fort Worth school trustees choose longtime member as next president

Posted Tuesday, Jul. 23, 2013  comments  Print Reprints

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

The Fort Worth school board chose a veteran trustee to be its next president, voting 8-0 Tuesday night to hand the gavel to Christene Chadwick Moss.

Moss, who has an elementary campus named in her honor, joined the board in 1990. She represents District 3, which includes Dunbar High School. A registered nurse, Moss is a graduate of Como High School and holds degrees from Tarrant County College, Texas Wesleyan University and Texas Woman’s University, according to the school district’s website.

Other board officers elected Tuesday are first vice president Tobi Jackson, second vice president, T.A Sims and secretary Norman Robbins.

The previous officers, chosen in January, were Judy Needham, president; Carlos Vasquez, first vice president; Robbins second vice president; and Moss secretary.

Also Tuesday, Jacinto A. Ramos Jr. who defeated Vasquez in a June 15 runoff race to represent District 1 on the city’s north side, took the oath of office.

In other business, trustees named several new campus principals. They include Connie Smith at Tanglewood Elementary, Chad McCarty at Eastern Hills High School, Cynthia Miles-Brown at Daggett Middle School and Katrina Smith at Meadowbrook Middle School.

Jessamy Brown, 817-390-7326 Twitter: @jessamybrown

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?