Arlington high schools to get deans

Posted Friday, Jun. 28, 2013  comments  Print Reprints

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

Every high school principal in Arlington will have extra help with curriculum, staff development and coordination in place when classes begin in August.

School trustees appointed deans of instruction for Arlington, Martin, Sam Houston, Bowie and Seguin high schools during their Thursday meeting.

The first deans of instruction began work in the district two years ago, and administrators have been so impressed with their effectiveness that they have spread the concept to all of the district’s traditional high schools.

“We feel that position is critical to improve the instruction at the high school level,” said superintendent Marcelo Cavazos.

Lamar, Bowie and Sam Houston already had the positions; Arlington, Martin and Seguin will now get them.

The new deans are:

• Jason Davis at Arlington, where he has been an assistant principal at Arlington since 2010.

• Ketura Madison at Bowie, where she has been an assistant principal.

• Zandra Marshall at Martin. She has been campus instructional coach for math at Seguin.

• Katrina Semones at Sam Houston, where she has been assistant principal since 2005.

• Kirsten Lundin at Seguin. She has been serving as instructional specialist for K-12 science this year.

Deans of instruction report to the principals and have a wide range of duties. The deans visit classrooms and give teachers feedback, and they work to create a positive and cooperative environment for staff and students alike.

Other appointments were made Thursday, including Teri Conley as principal of Larson Elementary School, and Carlin Thomas and Dara Williams-Rossi as assistant principals at Nichols Junior High School.

Two new central-office administrators were also introduced. Violet Maxwell is new Director of Elementary Personnel, and Jill Galloway is the recently appointed Director of Instructional Technology.

In other matters, trustees heard reports on a curriculum audit and preliminary accountability testing results. The board will not meet in July, and will return for the new school year in August.

Shirley Jinkins, 817-390-7657 Twitter: @shirljinkins

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?