DFW teens win National Merit college scholarships

Posted Monday, Jun. 10, 2013  comments  Print Reprints

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

Students from Tarrant County are headed to colleges across the nation after earning scholarships through the National Merit program.

The teens are among 2,500 high school winners of academic scholarships funded by 190 U.S. colleges and universities. The awards are worth $500 to $2,500 per year for up to four years of undergraduate education at the institution, officials said in a news release.

These winners were announced May 29. One more group of college-underwritten National Merit awards is scheduled to be announced July 15. The Evanston, Ill.-based National Merit organization expects to award about 4,500 college-financed scholarships this year.

Winners were chosen from the 15,000 teens who advanced to the finalist level in the National Merit Scholarship competition. Students entered the competition as high school juniors by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test in October 2011.

Area recipients, hometown, high school, award sponsor and likely career fields are:


Madison R. Bennett, Aledo High, Texas A&M University, architecture


Jonathan M. Crocker, The Oakridge School, Texas A&M University, biochemistry

Anthony D. Han, Martin High, Washington University, neuroscience

Charles H. Hankins III, The Oakridge School, University of Southern California, computer science

Hunter M. Jurgens, Arlington High, Southwestern University, astrophysics

Scott E. Perkins, Lamar High, Texas A&M University, physics

Caleb C. Smutzer, Pantego Christian Academy, University of Oklahoma, music composition

Carter J. Wilkerson, Arlington High, University of Oklahoma, aerospace engineering


Arianne Claire Couch, L.D. Bell High, Texas A&M University, international business

Brennen R. Taylor, L.D. Bell High, Texas A&M University, computer science


Erin M. Esterlein, Trinity Valley School, Texas A&M University, medicine


Kaitlyn E. Duda, L.D. Bell High, University of Mississippi, neurobiology


Molly B. Smith, Grapevine High, Texas A&M University, business

Fort Worth

Lillian H. Cowan, Fort Worth Country Day, Vanderbilt University, international business

Aisha Gillan, Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science, University of Texas at Dallas, psychiatry

Brendan M. Gould, L.D. Bell High, Texas A&M University, military service

Daniel Jin, Paschal High, Northwestern University, nanotechnology

William D. Jones, Trinity Valley School, University of Chicago, medicine

Hakyong Ko, Paschal High, Carleton College, economics

Amy Elizabeth Kruzick, Paschal High, Texas A&M University, computer engineering

Paul Moses, Paschal High, University of Tulsa, business

Brett Huffman Tebbe, Paschal High, Texas A&M University, business management


Hunter R. Pearson, home school, Texas A&M University, law

Grand Prairie

Rachel L. Campbell, Mansfield Timberview High, Oklahoma State University, electrical engineering


Clare C. Brown, Carroll Senior High, Mississippi State University, veterinary medicine


Zane Olds, Mansfield Timberview High, University of Texas at Dallas, physics

North Richland Hills

Abigain Durden, Birdville High, University of Texas at Dallas, economics


Hope A. Miller, Carroll Senior High, Texas A&M University, accounting

Matthew Walck, home school, Texas A&M University, engineering

Colton L. Williams, Carroll Senior High, Texas A&M University, applied mathematics

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?