Heritage 4x400 relay finishes at state

Posted Monday, May. 20, 2013  comments  Print Reprints

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

The Colleyville Heritage quartet in the 4x400m relay team finished 7th at the recent UIL state track and field meet in Austin.

The team of Jahrod Henderson, Johnny Joe, Matt McGann and Brett Bofinger finished in a time of 3:20.28. They had qualified at the regional meet with a time of 3:17.84.

Grapevine Faith baseball players sign letters of intent

Jared Pruett, Justin Davis, Brance Kahle and Brett Perkins signed letters of intent to continue their baseball careers in college. Pruett will accept a scholarship to Three Rivers College in Missouri, Davis will play at Pepperdine University, Kahle signed with Murray State College in Tishomingo, Okla., while Perkins plans to play baseball at Bacone College (Okla.).

Pruett and Kahle were also named to the TAPPS 1-4A All-District team, while Davis was selected to the 2nd team. Honorable Mention went to Pierson Sizelove, Zach Garcia and Garrett Lakey. Pruett and Kahle were also named to the state TAPPS All Star team.

GCISD chock full of All District selections

District 6-5A was well-represented with Heritage and Grapevine players in the recently released All District softball team.

Grapevine’s Brittany Perkins was name Offensive MVP, while Heritage’s Hailie Henson was selected as Catcher of the Year.

Freshman Cynthia Haugh of Grapevine was Newcomer of the Year.

Those named to the first team were Heritage players Reagen Dumar, Emily Clontz and Tess Eby; Grapevine players on the first team are MacKenzie Hill, Mandi Routon, Haugh and Perkins.

Second team selections were Lady Panthers Victoria Bratcher, Fallon Dean and Breann Hall, with Lady Mustangs Teressa Young and Jessica Taylor.

Honorable Mention went to Madison Young and Chriona Green of Heritage and Ericilia Mendoza of Grapvine.

Dragons induct five to Athletic Hall of Honor

The Carroll Dragon Athletic Hall of Honor will add five inductees to recognize their achievements. This year’s class includes two former coaches, two former star athletes and one dedicated supporter.

Slated for induction are athletes Dane Johnson and Kris Brown, coaches Chauncey Willingham and Ken Cook, and Dragons supporter Gene Stanford.

“We are pleased to announce this year’s class of the CISD Athletic Hall of Honor,” Carroll ISD Athletic Director Kevin Ozee said. “The individuals selected have had a tremendous impact laying the foundation for the program and for the current success of CISD Athletics. In creating the Hall of Honor, it is our goal to honor the past, protect the tradition, and build for the future.”

The inductees will be honored at 10 a.m. June 5 at the Athletic Awards Day at Carroll Senior High School.

- Randy Sachs

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse, images, internet links or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?