Keller City Council and school board election results

Posted Monday, May. 13, 2013  comments  Print Reprints

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

Debbie Bryan defeated Bob Hill by a large margin in the race for Place 1 on the Keller City Council, a win she attributed to her platform of maintaining rural low-density areas in Keller.

In unofficial results, Bryan received 70 percent of the vote. A special election was called for Place 1 after the resignation of council member Ray Brown.

“The feeling all over town is the same,” Bryan said. “Nobody wants this to turn into a sea of rooftops and concrete.”

Keller officials are in the early planning stages of reviewing the city’s future land use plan.

“I want to listen to the citizens of Keller, and let the citizens of Keller have a serious impact on the decisions in Keller,” she said.

Incumbents Tom Cawthra in Place 3 and Bill Dodge in Place 4 ran unchallenged.

Keller ISD

In the Keller school board races, one incumbent won and one incumbent lost.

Challenger Karina Davis defeated Board President Kevin Stevenson by 117 votes in unofficial results for Place 2.

Davis said she wants to address communication issues and look at everything very closely.

“We want to have parents, teachers and the community know what we’re doing and how decisions are made,” Davis said.

Davis has two children in the district, a sophomore at Central and a second grader at Friendship Elementary School.

Stevenson had been a trustee for six years.

Incumbent Cindy Lotton won the race for Place 3 with 56 percent of the vote over challenger Jack Davidson.

As she begins her fourth term, Lotton’s priorities are to continue the community ambassadors program she helped start this year and to be a voice of history for the district while moving forward in a challenging time.

Lotton said she would be watching developments in funding, testing guidelines and graduation plans as the Legislature winds down.

“I’m looking forward to moving on and continuing the great work we’ve done here,” she said.

Turnout was low but slightly higher than 2012, with 4.23 percent of voters casting ballots in the Keller school board races compared to 3.2 percent last year. For Keller City Council, 6.7 percent of voters went to the polls this year; 5.24 percent voted last year.

Trustee Jim Stitt was unopposed in Place 1.

Northwest ISD

Elected to fill the two seats in Northwest ISD board of trustees are Anne Davis-Simpson and Judy Copp.

Davis-Simpson was elected to Place 3 with 62 percent of voter approval. She defeated Kyle Morris and Edward R. Mergenthal Jr.

“The Northwest Board of Trustees in collaboration with district administrators, faculty, staff, and community members have worked diligently to chart a path of

greatness for our students in Northwest ISD,” Davis-Simpson said. “It is a privilege to serve as a part of this great team and continue the work.”

Judy Copp received 100 percent of voter approval for Place 4. Copp has served on the board since 2012.

Trophy Club

In the Trophy Club town council race, Greg Lamont defeat Glen Strother with more than 56 percent of the vote.

“I would like to thank the residents of Trophy Club for their support,” said Lamont. “Our campaign was based on issues and a vision for our Town. I look forward to working for the residents and continuing to keep them informed.”


Carol K. Langdon, Rick Rennhack, Wayne Stoltenberg, Michael Barrett were elected to Westlake’s Town Council on Saturday.

Langdon, Renheck and Barret are council veterans while Stoltenberg is newly-elected.

In unofficial results Langdon received 23.34 percent, Rennhack: 23.80 percent and Stoltenberg, 22.75 percent, beating out opponent Michael Crowe and Greg Goble.

Barrett recaptured his seat in a special election wiht 58.50 percent of the vote. Barret had been appointed to a one year term to fill the vacany of a council seat in 2012, defeated Gregg Malone for the seat.

Sandra Engelland, 817-431-2231 Twitter: @SandraEngelland

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse, images, internet links or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?