Sam Houston boys soccer takes 19 postseason honors

Posted Monday, Apr. 15, 2013  comments  Print Reprints

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

The Texans soccer team’s perfect run through District 3-5A play reaped the program 19 all-district honors, including the district MVP in senior goalkeeper Oscar Rodriguez, utility player of the year in senior forward Leonel Solorzano and coach of the year, which Joey Rodriguez shared with Mike Spruill of Lamar High.

First-team selections included Sam Houston senior forwards T.J. Marino and Miguel Alvarez, senior midfielders Marco Solorio and Orlando Morales, and senior defenders Sammy Mata and Kelvin Gonzalez.

Second-team selections included senior defenders Kevin Fernandez and Andres Aguilera, senior forwards Christian Fuentes and Bryan Viramontes, and senior mid Mark Hernandez.

Sophomore forward Bryan Salas, senior mid Mauricio Montenegro, junior mid Gerardo Munoz and sophomore forward Sammy Huerta garnered honorable mentions for the Texans.

Among the other Arlington 3-5A teams, Lamar senior defender Micah Clarke was honored as the defensive MVP, Bowie senior keeper Brad Rinewald was the goalkeeper of the year, and Bowie freshman mid Sam Valadez, was the newcomer of the year.

Arlington High junior forwards Reggie Gonzalez and Steven Chavez, along with junior mid Hugo Loredo and senior mid Luis Garcia, were first-team all-district selections. They were joined by Lamar junior mid Joseph Garcia, sophomore forward Osseil Maldonado, sophomore mid Adam LeBlanc and senior keeper Edgar Chavez. Bowie first-team selections were senior mid Max Naranjo and senior defenders Oscar Mwamba and Pablo Rivera. Martin High selections were senior mid Reese Cain and Hunter Hood, along with junior defender Alex Lane.

Arlington High second-team selections were sophomore defender Brendon Conn, senior mid Luis Ramirez and senior defenders Paul Marquez and Edwin Madrid. Lamar second-team honorees were senior forward Khalil Mohamed, junior mid Nick McCaskill and senior defenders Avel Guillen and Saul Ramirez. Bowie second-team selections were seniors Chris Mendez (mid) and Sergio Cardoza (defender), along with sophomore defender Jonathan Montelongo. Martin second-teamers were senior keeper Aaron Hawkins and senior defenders Blake Delaney and Adam Lazarus.

Honorable mentions also included:

• Arlington: Luis Cabrera, senior mid; Pablo Ortega, senior defender; Christian Vega, senior goalkeeper; Deo Guerrero, senior defender; and Cesar Garcia, junior mid.

• Lamar: Juan Amadore, senior defender; David Garcia, senior mid; Landry Bray, sophomore mid; and Martin Valenzuela, senior defender.

• Bowie: Jose Arredondo, junior mid; Jesse Nunez, junior defender; and Devin Fuentes, freshman forward.

• Martin: Chase Mott, senior mid; Doug Boudreaux, senior defender; Quentin Query, senior defender; Stanley Smith, senior mid; and Julian Basey, junior mid.

— Stephen English

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse, images, internet links or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?