Cowboys' Allen, Parcells voted to Pro Football Hall of Fame

Posted Saturday, Feb. 02, 2013  comments  Print Reprints

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

Larry Allen, one of the most decorated offensive players in Dallas Cowboys and National Football League history, was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday.

Joining Allen in the Class of 2013 will be former Dallas coach Bill Parcells, Baltimore offensive lineman Jonathan Ogden, Tampa Bay defensive lineman Warren Sapp, Minnesota wide receiver Cris Carter, Green Bay linebacker Dave Robinson and Kansas City/Houston Oilers defensive tackle Curley Culp.

The enshrinement will be held on Aug. 3 in Canton, Ohio.

Allen, Ogden, and Sapp were in their first year of eligibility. Parcells was in his second year.

"I broke down and started crying," Allen said. "I was happy. I'm still trying to process it."

Allen said Cowboys owner Jerry Jones will be his presenter.

“Larry is one of the greatest players in Cowboys history, and arguably the very best guard to ever play the game. He was obviously a special talent, but the fierceness and tenacity that he brought to the field separated him from the rest of the pack," Jones said in a statement. "I have never been more proud of anyone who has reached the Pro Football Hall Fame. Larry Allen represents the best of the very best.”

Culp was a senior nominee.

Former Cowboys defensive end/linebacker Charles Haley reached the final 10 before being eliminated.

Allen entered the league as a second-round pick out of Sonoma State. His versatility would be his trademark along with his total dominance of opponents. He played every position on the offensive line except center during his 12 seasons in Dallas before playing his final two years in San Francisco.

Long considered one of the strongest men ever to play in the league, the 6-foot-3, 325-pound Allen was very athletic for a man his size. He was named to 11 Pro Bowls and was seven times All-Pro. He was inducted into the Cowboys Ring of Honor in 2011.

He was named to the NFL All-Decade Teams of the 1990s and 20000s and earned a championship ring with the Cowboys in Super Bowl XXX.

The Cowboys now have 15 in the Hall. The others are Bob Lilly, Roger Staubach, Tom Landry, Tex Schramm, Tony Dorsett, Randy White, Mel Renfro, Troy Aikman, Rayfield Wright, Michael Irvin, Bob Hayes, Emmitt Smith and Deion Sanders.

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?