North Texas high school marching bands head to area contests Saturday

Posted Thursday, Oct. 25, 2012  comments  Print Reprints

Regional results for North Texas schools:

5A Division 1 ratings

(Area qualifiers)

Fort Worth Paschal High School, North Crowley High School, Weatherford High School, Carroll Senior High School

Keller: Keller Central High School, Keller Fossil Ridge High School, Keller High School, Keller Timber Creek

Denton: Denton Ryan High School

Northwest: Northwest High School

Arlington: Arlington High School, Arlington Bowie High School, Arlington Martin High School, Arlington Sam Houston High School

Birdville: Haltom High School, Richland High School

Hurst-Euless-Bedford: L.D. Bell High School, Trinity High School

Mansfield: Mansfield High School, Mansfield Timberview High School.

Grapevine-Colleyville: Colleyville Heritage High School, Grapevine High School

Lewisville: Flower Mound Marcus High School, Flower Mound High School.

3A Division 1 ratings

(Area qualifiers)

Denton: Argyle High School, Lake Worth High School.

Waxahachie: Alvarado High School, Castleberry High School, Kennedale High School.

4A Division 1 ratings

(Off-year, no advancement to Area or State)

Azle High School, Boswell High School, Brewer High School, Byron Nelson High School, Chisholm Trail High School, Denton High School, Denton Guyer High School, Saginaw High School.

Birdville High School, Mansfield Lake Ridge High School, Mansfield Legacy High School, Mansfield Summit High School.

Aledo High School, Burleson Centennial High School, Burleson High School, Cleburne High School, Crowley High School, Granbury High School, Joshua High School, Southwest High School, Western Hills High School, Stephenville High School.

Have more to add? News tip? Tell us

High school marching bands that did well at regional University Interscholastic League competitions will move on to area-level contests on Saturday.

North Texas bands will be traveling to contests at several locations, including Plano, Denton, Waxahachie and Odessa.

Many of the large-school 5A bands from districts including Arlington, Mansfield and Hurst-Euless-Bedford will compete at Clark Stadium in Plano, just four days after qualifying for the contest on Tuesday. And several 3A bands will compete at Denton's C.H. Collins Athletic Complex.

Argyle, which won the 3A state contest in 2010, will be the last band to take the field during preliminaries at Denton. State champion 5A band Flower Mound Marcus will perform second, at 9:45 a.m. Saturday in Plano.

Schools that earned a Division I rating at regional contests are eligible to compete at area-level contests. The top ranked bands at the area competition will advance to the state competition on Nov. 5 and 6 at the Alamodome in San Antonio, said Bob Copeland, University Interscholastic League Region 5/Area B secretary.

Each Area competition will include about 25 bands in the all-day preliminary round. Of those competitors, ten bands are selected to go to the final round in the evening where five will be selected to move on to the state contest.

Admission for spectators is $5 for adults and $3 for students and senior citizens.

Plano: Preliminary round of performances at Plano will start at 9:20 a.m. and bands that will advance to the final round will be announced after 5:15 p.m. The final round will begin at 7:15 p.m. and state qualifiers will be announced after 10:15 p.m.

Waxahachie: Waxahachie ISD Stadium. Preliminaries start at 9:30 a.m. and end at 6 p.m. Finals start at 7:30 p.m. and end at 10:15 p.m.

Denton: C.H. Collins Athletic Complex. Preliminaries begin at 9:30 a.m. and end at 5:15 p.m. Finals start at 7:30 p.m. and end at 10 p.m. Spectators going to the Area B band competition in Plano can find exact performance schedules for their schools at Shirley Jinkins, 817-390-7657

Twitter: @startelegram

Looking for comments?

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?