Three former Texas Christian University football players arrested on marijuana delivery charges have pleaded guilty and been sentenced to probation, a common punishment for first-time offenders, according to the Tarrant County district attorney's office.David Yendrey, 21, Tanner Wilson Brock, 21 and Tyler Horn, 21, reached plea deals within the last month. The case involving a fourth former football player, Devin Johnson, is pending.The players were among 17 TCU students arrested during a drug sting in February.Yendrey, 21, pleaded guilty Friday to four charges of delivery of marijuana, more than 1/4 ounce but less than five pounds. He was sentenced to three years of deferred adjudication probation and ordered to pay a $300 fine on all four cases, said Melody McDonald, a district attorney office spokeswoman, in a statement.He also pleaded guilty to two misdemeanor charges of delivery of less than 1/4 ounce of marijuana and was sentenced to six months of deferred adjudication probation.Brock pleaded guilty June 6 to three charges of delivery of marijuana, more than 1/4 ounce but less than 5 pounds, McDonald said. He was sentenced to four years deferred adjudication probation. He was also ordered to pay a $1,200 fine.Horn pleaded guilty June 15 to one charge of delivery of marijuana, more than 1/4 ounce but less than 5 pounds, she said. He was sentenced to three years deferred adjudication probation and a $300 fine.If the players successfully complete the terms of their probation, a conviction will not appear on their record, she said. However, if they violate probation, they could face from 180 days to two years in a state jail facility and up to $10,000 fine."Each case stood on its own merit and was thoroughly reviewed by veteran prosecutors who took into consideration the nature of the crime, as well as the defendants' backgrounds, prior criminal history, and whether they were good prospects for rehabilitation," McDonald said. "All three defendants were legally eligible for probation and were willing to take responsibility for their actions."Alex Branch, 817-390-7689Twitter: @albranch1
Texas marijuana laws
Possession of 2 ounces or less is a class B misdemeanor. Maximum sentence: 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine.
Possession of 2 to 4 ounces is a class A misdemeanor. Maximum sentence: one year in jail and a $4,000 fine.
Possession of 4 ounces to 1 pound is a state jail felony. Maximum sentence: two years in jail and a $10,000 fine.
Possession of 1 to 5 pounds is a state jail felony. Maximum sentence: two years in jail and a $10,000 fine.
Sale of 1/4 ounce or less is a class A misdemeanor. Maximum sentence: one year in jail and a $4,000 fine.
Sale of 1/4 ounce to 5 pounds is a state jail felony. Maximum sentence: two years in jail and a $10,000 fine.
Source: Texas Penal Code