Places to go

Friday, May. 30, 2014

Join a bilingual guide for a “Nature en Espanol” hike on the trails of the Fort Worth Nature Center and Refuge. The hike is 1-2:30 p.m. Saturday, May 31, and free with paid admission ($2-$5). From 2 to 4 p.m. Sunday, June 1, take a herp walk to find reptiles and amphibians such as green tree frogs, skinks, water snakes and slider turtles. Best for ages 7 and up, it’s also free with paid admission. On Friday, June 6, join naturalists on a birding hike, 8:30-10:30 a.m., also free with paid admission. Preregistration is required. And Saturday, June 7, take a canoe tour of the west fork of the Trinity River, 8:30-11 a.m. It’s $20 and includes admission, $15 for members. Registration ends when tour is full. 9601 Fossil Ridge Road, Fort Worth, 817-392-7410; www.fwnaturecenter.org.

Neil Sperry: Pomegranate pointers

| Friday, May. 30, 2014

This small tree yields pleasing qualities, whether you plant one for its showy flowers or its sweet fruit

Neil Sperry: The mystique of summer lawn care

| Monday, May. 26, 2014

Late May is the best time to start turf, plus more expert advice to mow — er, mull — over

Show us your garden: A hidden treasure in Bedford

| |Friday, May. 16, 2014

In her small fenced yard, a gardener cultivates a colorful assortment of flowers and ferns.

Neil Sperry: Timing your plantings is critical

| Monday, May. 19, 2014

You still can plant trees, vines and more, but remember to water them well.

Neil Sperry: When the grass isn’t greener

| Friday, May. 09, 2014

There are shade-tolerant options, but they aren’t the ‘miracle’ turfs being pitched.

Show Us Your Garden: Roses thrive in a xeriscaped yard

| |Friday, May. 02, 2014

An Arlington couple cuts down dramatically on water usage without sacrificing beauty in the landscape.

Neil Sperry: Play up purple for a cool, classy look

| Friday, May. 02, 2014

This regal shade pairs well with other colors and adds visual interest to the landscape.

Local home and garden tours to catch this spring

| |Tuesday, Apr. 29, 2014

The public can take a peek at historic Fairmount homes, “hidden” gardens, ponds galore and more.

Show us your garden

Thursday, Apr. 24, 2014

Submit a description and photo to be considered for our summer series.