Neil Sperry: Dallisgrass is the big, green monster

| Friday, Aug. 15, 2014

Those clumps of weeds are a real threat to turf grass and must be controlled.

Neil Sperry: Add pops of yellow to the landscape

| Friday, Aug. 08, 2014

Bright flowers and foliage bring the sunny side of summer to garden beds and containers

The Garden Guru: Turfgrass on trial

| Friday, Aug. 01, 2014

Lawns get a bad rap during hot, dry spells, but this most basic part of the landscape performs valuable tasks.

The Garden Guru: Simple lessons of a foreign lifestyle

Friday, Jul. 25, 2014

A trip through Amish Country leads to quiet contemplation.

The Garden Guru: Good deals help color in landscape

| Friday, Jul. 11, 2014

This container-loving gardener makes an exception for a few impulse buys.

Neil Sperry: Start planting for fall gardens now

| Friday, Jul. 04, 2014

Tomatoes and pumpkins lead the way in the second, cooler growing season.

The Garden Guru: Potting fans can’t contain their enthusiasm

| Friday, Jun. 27, 2014

The options for plant choices and decor are boundless, so it’s no wonder avid gardeners are embracing this trend.

Neil Sperry: Plants need a shot of iron, too

| Friday, Jun. 13, 2014

Little things matter to growing things. Here’s how one nutrient can affect your entire landscape.

Neil Sperry: The tropical beauty of bougainvilleas

| Friday, Jun. 06, 2014

The plants’ brightly colored bracts will delight in summer — but say goodbye when winter hits.

Neil Sperry: Pomegranate pointers

| Friday, May. 30, 2014

This small tree yields pleasing qualities, whether you plant one for its showy flowers or its sweet fruit